Christy Clark returns to legislature with by-election win

Dec 19 2017, 7:56 am

British Columbians once again have a premier sitting in the Legislature, after Christy Clark claimed victory in Wednesday’s by-election.

On Wednesday, July 10, Clark successfully won the riding of Westside-Kelowna, sweeping the election, with 62 per cent of the vote.

“I am going to do everything that I can, everything that I can, to earn and deserve the support that the people of this community have given to me tonight,” Clark said in her victory speech Wednesday night.

In May’s general election, the BC Liberals were able to hold off their NDP counterparts, claiming a surprising majority government. Clark, however, wasn’t able to re-claim her seat, losing the riding of Vancouver-Point Grey to the NDP’s David Eby, by less than 5 per cent of the vote.

The total seat count in the May election was: 49 seats for the BC Liberals, 34 for the BC NDP, one Green and one Independent.

Shortly after the election, re-elected MLA Ben Stewart announced he would step aside allowing Clark to run in a by-election in the riding of Westside-Kelowna.

Clark easily defeated the other contenders Wednesday, allowing for her return to the legislature and to continue on as B.C.’s Premier.

The first session of the 40th parliament started on June 26, 2013.

Image: BC Gov Photos