Christy Clark unveils new cabinet

Dec 19 2017, 7:40 am

After winning a majority government in May’s B.C. general election, Christy Clark has unveiled her new cabinet of 19 Ministers.

“Never forget that the world needs British Columbia,” said Premier Clark to a large crowd of supporters and media outside Canada Place. “British Columbians sent me, sent this province, the most talented group of MLAs that, I think, has ever sat in the legislature.”

Premier Clark continued saying that there is a “blend of experience and fresh eyes coming to government…representing the breadth of this province.”


Minister Ministry
Rich Coleman Deputy Premier; Natural Gas; Housing
Mike de Jong Finance; Government House Leader
Steve Thompson Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations
Terry Lake Health
John Rustad Aboriginal Relations and Reconciliation
Peter Fassbender Education
Amrik Virk Advanced Education
Todd Stone Transportation and Infrastructure
Don McRae Social Development and Social Innovation
Andrew Wilkinson Technology, Innovation and Citizens’ Services
Stephanie Cadieux Children and Family Development
Bill Bennett Energy, Mines and Core Review
Coralee Oakes Community, Sport and Cultural Development
Teresa Wat International Trade, Asia-Pacific Strategy; Multiculturalism
Suzanne Anton Justice and Attorney General
Shirley Bond Jobs, Tourism and Skills Training; Labour
Mary Polak Environment
Pat Pimm Agriculture
Naomi Yamamoto State for Small Business and Tourism


“We are united by a common committment, to roll up our sleeves and get to work for the people of British Columbia,” said Premier Clark.

After losing her own seat in Vancouver-Point Grey to BC NDP’s David Eby, Clark will try to find her way back into legislature by running in the Westside-Kelowna byelection.

DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News