Christy Clark re-elected as B.C. Premier

Dec 19 2017, 3:31 pm

B.C. Liberal’s Christy Clark has been re-elected as Premier of British Columbia with a majority government.

Updates throughout the evening

12:17 A.M. Vancouver-Point Grey (143/147 boxes): Premier Christy Clark has not won her riding in Vancouver-Point Grey: 8,686 for Clark and 9,094 for the NDP’s David Eby. However, under our Parliamentary rules, she remains as the Head of Government. It is also tradition that she will likely ask one of her MLA’s in a Metro Vancouver Liberal riding stronghold to step aside so that she can run in a by-election in that riding in order to be able to participate in the legislature. This same situation has happened in other provinces before.

11:15 P.M. Vancouver-Point Grey (137/147 boxes): Premier Christy Clark’s riding is still far too close to call. 7,911 for Clark and 7,656 for the NDP’s David Eby.

11:15 P.M. B.C. Election Returns (10,951/11,331 boxes):
– Liberals 50
– NDP 33
– Green 1
– Conservatives 0
– Other/Indp. 1

10:34 P.M. B.C. Election Returns (9,916/11,331 boxes):
– Liberals 51
– NDP 32
– Green 1
– Conservatives 0
– Other/Indp. 1

10:20 P.M. Results: It’s still a very close race in Premier Christy Clark’s riding of Vancouver-Point Grey. 6,564 for Clark and 6,758 for the NDP’s David Eby with 120 of 147 ballot boxes reporting. However, it is not necessary for Christy Clark to win a seat in the legislature as she is still the Head of Government.

10:05 P.M. Results: Despite most opinion polls suggesting a BC NDP victory, the BC Liberals may end up winning not only a majority government but also a very strong one. The BC Liberals may win more than the 45 seats they currently hold in the legislature.

Andrew Weaver of the BC Green Party has won Oak Bay-Gordon Head, making him the first Green Party member to be elected.

9:46 P.M. BREAKING: Global BC, CTV and CBC are now projecting a MAJORITY BC LIBERAL GOVERNMENT. 43 of the 85 seats are needed to form a majority. The BC Liberals are currently leading with 52 seats. 7,380 of 11,331 ballot boxes have been counted.

10:35 P.M. BREAKING: Global BC, CTV and CBC project a BC Liberal Government. Majority or minority government has not yet been determined. 43 seats are needed to take majority. 6,422 of 11,331 ballot boxes have been counted at this time.

9:32 P.M. B.C. Election Returns (5,361/11,331 boxes):
– Liberals 49
– NDP 34
– Green 1
– Conservatives 0
– Other/Indp. 1

9:32 P.M. Metro Vancouver Results:
– Close race remains in Vancouver-Point Grey between Premier Christy Clark and NDP’s David Eby
– NDP elected in Vancouver-Hastings (Shane Simpson), Surrey Whalley (Bruce Ralston), Surrey-Newton (Harry Bains), Surrey-Green Timbers (Sue Hammell), Vancouver-West End (Spencer Chandra-Herbert), and Port Coquitlam (Mike Farnworth).
– Liberals elected in Richmond-Steveston (John Yap), Richmond East (Linda Reid), Surrey-Cloverdale (Stephanie Cadieux), Surrey-White Rock (Gordon Hogg), West Vancouver-Capilano (Ralph Sultan), North Vancouver-Lonsdale (Naomi Yamamoto), Vancouver-Langara (Moira Stilwell), Surrey-Panorama (Marvin Hunt), and Vancouver-Quilchena (Andrew Wilkinson).
– Former Vancouver Mayor Sam Sullivan elected as Liberal MLA in Vancouver-False Creek.

8:51 P.M. B.C. Election early returns:
– Liberals 46
– NDP 32
– Green 2
– Conservatives 0
– Other/Indp. 3

8:51 P.M. Declared:
– NDP leader Adrian Dix wins his own Vancouver-Kingsway riding
– Conservative leader John Cummins loses his own riding; incumbent Liberal Mary Polak wins

8:00 P.M. – Polls have closed for the 40th Provincial General Election of British Columbia. Let the returns begin!

DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News