It's official: All 7 Canadian NHL teams will miss the playoffs

Dec 19 2017, 9:03 pm

It’s official: all seven Canadian NHL teams will miss the Stanley Cup Playoffs this spring.

The last hope for Canada was the Ottawa Senators, who were eliminated after the Philadelphia Flyers beat the Washington Capitals 2-1 in a shootout last night. The Canucks were eliminated from the playoffs last Friday.

The three worst teams in the NHL are all from Canada. All seven Canadian teams are in the bottom-10 in league standings.

The last time that no NHL teams from Canada participated in the playoffs was 1970, when Canada only had two teams.

It’s been a nightmare season for all seven teams from north of the border, given that five Canadian teams made the playoffs last season.

The Stanley Cup drought for Canadian teams, currently at 23 years, will remain intact. In the meantime, focus in this country will turn to the reverse standings, and the hope for a top draft pick.


DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News