OVO teams up with Canadian women's national basketball team (PHOTOS)

Feb 6 2020, 1:02 pm

With eyes on qualifying for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, Canada’s women’s basketball team has formed a new partnership with lifestyle brand OVO.

The Drake-founded company is now the title sponsor of the team’s jerseys, which now feature “October’s Very Own” accompanied by their owl logo splashed across the jersey.

Canada Basketball says it’s the “first collaboration piece in an exclusive partnership between OVO and Canada Basketball.”

“We are proud of Team Canada’s accomplishments that have led them to this moment, where they are vying for a spot in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games,” said Glen Grunwald, President and CEO of Canada Basketball. “To have OVO, a globally recognized Canadian brand, a part of this journey emphasizes the importance of growing the game in the country, and internationally on the largest stage in competitive sports.”

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Canada Basketball (@canadabasketball) on

Canada is currently ranked fourth in the world, which is a national record, and looking to qualify for a third-straight Olympics in women’s basketball. They’re competing at an Olympic qualifying tournament in Belgium, which begins today.

The top two teams in the tournament, along with Japan as the Olympic host country, will book their ticket for Tokyo. Fans will be able to watch the games on CBC or stream on DAZN and the CBC Gem app:

  • Thu, Feb 6: Canada vs Belgium, 2:35 pm ET / 11:35 am PT
  • Sat, Feb 8: Canada vs Sweden, 2:35 pm ET / 11:35 am PT
  • Sun, Feb 9: Canada vs Japan, 12:05 pm ET / 9:05 am PT