Former finance minister will be John Horgan's special advisor for $1 salary

Nov 26 2020, 11:32 pm

Former finance minister and deputy premier Carole James has agreed to stay on as a special advisor to BC Premier John Horgan at a salary of $1.

The appointment was announced Thursday as the BC NDP unveiled its new cabinet members on Thursday.

Horgan told reporters that he tried to pay $5 for a five-year term, but James wanted to take it one year at a time.

The new cabinet members are tasked with continuing government’s cross-ministry response to the pandemic, providing better healthcare for people and families, delivering affordability and security in BC’s communities, and investing in good jobs and livelihoods in a clean-energy future, the province said.

“The pandemic has turned the lives of British Columbians upside down,” said BC Premier John Horgan. “We have come a long way together, but we have much further to go. This skilled, diverse team is ready to continue our fight against COVID-19 and build an economic recovery that includes everyone.”

The new cabinet includes 20 ministers and four ministers of state. Gender representation remains balanced. The cabinet will be supported in its work by 13 parliamentary secretaries, with portfolios including Rural Development, Anti-Racism, and Technology and Innovation.

The cabinet and parliamentary secretaries are as follows:

  • Premier: John Horgan
  • Attorney General (and Minister Responsible For Housing): David Eby
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Anti-Racism Initiatives: Rachna Singh
  • Advanced Education and Skills Training: Anne Kang
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Skills Training: Andrew Mercier
  • Agriculture, Food and Fisheries: Lana Popham
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Fisheries and Aquaculture: Fin Donnelly
  • Citizens’ Services: Lisa Beare
  • Children and Family Development: Mitzi Dean
  • Minister of State for Child Care: Katrina Chen
  • Education: Jennifer Whiteside
  • Energy, Mines and Low Carbon Innovation (and Minister Responsible for the Consular Corps of British Columbia): Bruce Ralston
  • Environment and Climate Change Strategy (and Minister Responsible for Translink): George Heyman
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Environment: Kelly Greene
  • Finance: Selina Robinson
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Gender Equity: Grace Lore
  • Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development: Katrine Conroy
  • Minister of State for Lands, Natural Resource Operations: Nathan Cullen
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Rural Development: Roly Russell
  • Health (and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs): Adrian Dix
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Seniors Services and Long Term Care: Mable Elmore
  • Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation: Murray Rankin
  • Jobs, Economic Recovery and Innovation: Ravi Kahlon
  • Minister of State for Trade: George Chow
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Technology and Innovation: Brenda Bailey
  • Labour: Harry Bains
  • Parliamentary Secretary – New Economy: Adam Walker
  • Mental Health and Addictions: Sheila Malcolmson
  • Municipal Affairs: Josie Osborne
  • Public Safety and Solicitor General: Mike Farnworth
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Emergency Preparedness: Jennifer Rice
  • Social Development and Poverty Reduction: Nicholas Simons
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Community Development and Non-Profits: Niki Sharma
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Accessibility: Dan Coulter
  • Tourism, Arts, Culture and Sport: Melanie Mark
  • Parliamentary Secretary – Arts and Film: Bob D’Eith
  • Transportation and Infrastructure: Rob Fleming
  • Minister of State for Infrastructure: Bowinn Ma

“I know this is a hard time for British Columbians,” said Horgan. “COVID-19 has brought challenges unlike any we’ve faced before.”

However, “by putting people first, supporting frontline workers and by everyone doing their part to fight this virus, we will make it through, together.”

Eric ZimmerEric Zimmer

+ News
+ Politics