B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame 2015 inductees announced

Dec 19 2017, 1:45 pm

The B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame has announced its 2015 inductee list, and several legendary NHL players and coaches made the cut.

In a press release issued today, the exclusive organization named Stanley Cup Champion Rob Niedermayer, former Vancouver Canucks Captain Markus Naslund, NHL coach Curt Fraser, Cam Kerr and the 1979 Canada Winter Games Gold Medal Team to its Hall of Fame.

Naslund, a Canuck favourite, played 12 seasons in Vancouver a scored a team record number of 346 goals.

B.C. born Neidermayer played 17 seasons in the NHL and won the 2007 Stanley Cup with the Anaheim Ducks. He also was part of the Canadian Gold Medal winning team in the 2004 World Hockey Championships.

Fraser embarked on his NHL journey in 1978 with the Vancouver Canucks where he played five seasons. He then went on to be a professional coach for 22 years, including years as the Head Coach in Atlanta and Assistant Coach for the Dallas Stars.

Kerr has been involved with B.C. Hockey for over 40 years, including playing at UBC and founding the B.C. Hockey High Performance Program. He has coached at various levels across B.C. and in Japan.

Team B.C., inductees in the Team Category, won the 1979 Canada Winter Games, the first gold medal win for B.C. in the competition.

The B.C. Hockey Hall of Fame Induction ceremony will take place on July 24 in Penticton.

Featured Image: NHL

DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News