Select Ontario high schools on 1-day strike as talks stall: OSSTF

Dec 11 2019, 7:55 am

Select high schools in Ontario are out of session again today as secondary school teachers hold another one-day strike.

The Ontario Secondary School Teacher’s Federation (OSSTF), which represents public high school teachers, says it will move ahead with the job action as talks appear to have stalled.

According to the OSSTF, nine school districts have withdrawn all of their services, including the Toronto District School Board (TDSB).

According to the TDSB, a tentative agreement has not yet been reached, and as a result, OSSTF (secondary teachers and education workers) are proceeding with the previously announced one-day walkout.

“Parents/guardians are required to make alternate arrangements for their children if necessary. Secondary schools will re-open to students on Thursday, December 12, 2019,” reads a statement from the TDSB.

In addition to all TDSB secondary schools, adult high schools, secondary e-Learning classes, and night schools offering secondary credits are also closed to students and cancelled on Wednesday.

Any out-of-school activities, including field trips and sports, are cancelled.

At this time, elementary and middle schools remain open. General interest and adult ESL courses are not impacted and will continue to run.

“We remain hopeful that negotiations will continue and that a contract agreement can be reached to avoid any further disruption to students’ education,” said the TDSB in a statement.

This comes after the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association (OPSBA) said that the Education Workers’ Alliance of Ontario (EWAO) has successfully negotiated a tentative agreement with the provincial government on Tuesday.

“The parties worked hard together at the table to reach a fair and responsible agreement that will help ensure that we keep students in the classroom,” said OPSBA President Cathy Abraham.

During this time, teachers have said they are pushing back against the provincial government’s plans to increase class sizes and introduce mandatory e-learning courses.

Impacted school boards:

  • Toronto District School Board
  • Simcoe County District School Board
  • Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board
  • Grand Erie District School Board
  • Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board
  • Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board
  • Near North District School Board
  • Rainy River District School Board
  • Trillium Lakelands District School Board

Schools picketing:

  • Don Mills CI
  • Jarvis CI
  • Alternative Schools/Bickford Centre
  • Central Technical
  • SOLE/Monarch Park CI
  • Dr Norman Bethune CI
  • Kinga Surma Constituency Office

A complete list of locations to be picketed can be found by clicking here.

Ainsley SmithAinsley Smith

+ News
+ Politics