Ontario releases details on 27 regions entering the colour-coded framework

Feb 12 2021, 11:39 am

The Ontario government has released detailed on the 27 public health regions returning to the colour-coded framework, which will start next week.

It’s important to note that Toronto, as well as Peel, York, and North Bay Parry Sound District, will remain under the Stay at Home orders at least until February 22.

On Friday, the Ford government released what colour the 27 regions will return to on Tuesday, under the “revised and strengthened” COVID-19 Response Framework: Keeping Ontario Safe and Open.

“The health and safety of Ontarians remains our number one priority. While we are cautiously and gradually transitioning some regions out of shutdown, with the risk of new variants this is not a reopening or a return to normal,” said Christine Elliott, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health in a statement.

“Until vaccines are widely available, It remains critical that all individuals and families continue to adhere to public health measures and stay home as much as possible to protect themselves, their loved ones and their communities.”

The 27 regions are moving back to the Framework are:


  • Niagara Region Public Health


  • Chatham-Kent Public Health
  • City of Hamilton Public Health Services
  • Durham Region Health Department
  • Halton Region Public Health
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services
  • Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit
  •  Southwestern Public Health
  •  Thunder Bay District Health Unit
  • Wellington-Dufferin Guelph Public Health
  •  Windsor-Essex County Health Unit


  •  Brant County Health Unit
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit
  • Huron Perth Public Health
  • Lambton Public Health
  • Ottawa Public Health
  • Porcupine Health Unit
  • Public Health Sudbury and Districts.


  • Algoma Public Health
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit
  • Northwestern Health Unit
  • Peterborough Public Health.


  • Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit
  • Timiskaming Health Unit.

According to the province, based on a “general improvement in trends of key indicators” these regions have been moved to their designated zone.

After returning to the Framework, public health regions will stay in their level for at least two weeks at which time, the government will assess the impact of public health and workplace safety measures to determine if the region should stay where they are or be moved to a different level.

“Public health regions will move up through the levels, if necessary, based on the set indicators and thresholds outlined in the Framework,” the release notes.

However, in all the colours, retail is allowed to reopen with the stricted measures in the Grey and Red zones.

Due to the new variants Ontario is introducing an “emergency brake” to allow the Chief Medical Officer of Health, in consultation with the local medical officer of health, to “immediately advise moving a region into Grey-Lockdown to interrupt transmission.”