× Select City
Hockey, Sports

Maple Leafs reveal their list for Vegas expansion draft

Rob Williams Jun 18, 2017 1:14 am 240

The Toronto Maple Leafs, along with 29 other NHL teams, revealed their protected and exposed lists for the NHL Expansion Draft.

The league’s newest team, the Vegas Golden Knights, will take one player from each team, with the announcement coming during the NHL Awards (Wednesday, 8 pm ET).


  • Tyler Bozak (F)
  • Connor Brown (F)
  • Nazem Kadri (F)
  • Leo Komarov (F)
  • Josh Leivo (F)
  • Matt Martin (F)
  • James van Riemsdyk (F)
  • Connor Carrick (D)
  • Jake Gardiner (D)
  • Morgan Rielly (D)
  • Frederik Andersen (G)


  • Brian Boyle (F)
  • Eric Fehr (F)
  • Colin Greening (F)
  • Seth Griffith (F)
  • Teemu Hartikainen (F)
  • Brooks Laich (F)
  • Brendan Leipsic (F)
  • Joffrey Lupul (F)
  • Milan Michalek (F)
  • Kerby Rychel (F)
  • Ben Smith (F)
  • Andrew Campbell (D)
  • Matt Hunwick (D)
  • Alexey Marchenko (D)
  • Martin Marincin (D)
  • Steve Oleksy (D)
  • Roman Polak (D)
  • Antoine Bibeau (G)
  • Curtis McElhinney (G)
  • Garret Sparks (G)


First and second year pros are exempt from the expansion draft, meaning Toronto was set up pretty well not having to protect young stars like Auston Matthews, Mitch Marner, and William Nylander.

Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.

Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2019 Buzz Connected Media Inc.