Minimum wage has officially gone up in Washington

Jan 4 2021, 10:22 am

On January 1, Washington State’s minimum wage increased to $13.69 per hour.

The 19-cent increase is the first in four years that’s been determined by inflation instead of a voter-approved ballot measure.

Workers 14 or 15 years old may be paid 85% of the adult minimum wage. As of January 1, that is now $11.64 per hour.

The change also impacts wages paid to some salaried employees exempt from overtime and other protections under state law.

For small businesses with 1-50 employees, an exempt employee must earn a salary of at least 1.5 times the minimum wage, or $821.40 a week ($42,712.80/year).

For large businesses with 51 or more employees, an exempt employee must earn a salary of at least 1.75 times the minimum wage, or $958.30 a week ($49,831.60/year).

Complete information about the wage increase is available on the Labor and Industries website.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT