Five new regions in Washington progressing to Phase 2 this weekend

Feb 12 2021, 11:11 am

Five new regions of Washington will progress to Phase 2 of the Healthy Washington reopening plan.

Governor Jay Inslee announced that the North, North Central, Northwest, East, and Southwest regions will join the Puget Sound and West regions in Phase 2, starting this weekend.

As outlined in the governor’s COVID-19 phased recovery plan, regions must meet each of the following four metrics in order to move into Phase 2:

  1. A decreasing trend of 10% or more in a two-week rate of COVID-19 cases per 100,000 population.
  2. A decreasing trend of 10% or more in a two-week rate of new COVID-19 hospitalizations.
  3. Less than 90% Intensive Care Unit (ICU) occupancy.
  4. COVID-19 test positivity of less than 10%.

“I know this creates more options for restaurants to make Valentine’s Day special for couples who hoped they could have a night out,” Inslee said in a press release. “I am confident people, young and old, will celebrate safely. And if it’s a first date that doesn’t go well, remind them to stay six feet away from you.”

New counties in Phase 2 include Whatcom, Skagit, San Juan, Island, Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Clallam, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Adams, Whitman, Garfield, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Skamania, Clark, and Klickitat.

The only region to remain in Phase 1 is the South Central region – which includes Ellensburg, Yakima, the Tri-Cities, and Walla Walla.

Washington Governor Jay Inslee