Enjoy Washington's parks for free on these 12 days

Sep 22 2020, 12:17 pm

Yearly the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission offers Washingtonians the chance to visit state parks on select days without a Discover Pass. In the coming year, Washington State Parks will offer twelve days throughout which explorers can roam free of charge.

The free passes only apply to day visits, not overnight stays or rented facilities. A Discover Pass will still be required to access lands managed by the Washington State Department of Natural Resources and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife. This year, the 29th of November will be the final Washington Parks free day of 2020.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Washington State Parks (@wastatepks) on

The Discover Pass is only necessary for motor vehicles and isn’t needed if you’re wanting to access the parks by boat or non-motorized means.

It was created in 2011 to offset steep reductions in general tax support for parks and other recreation lands and facilities. Purchasing the pass helps to keep the state’s outdoor recreation sites open and accessible to the public.

There are two pass options: a $30 annual pass, good for one year from the date of purchase, or a $10 day pass.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Washington State Parks (@wastatepks) on

The 2021 State Parks free days are as follows:

  • Friday, January 1 — First Day Hikes; New Year’s Day
  • Monday, January 18 — Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Friday, March 19 — State Parks’ 108th Birthday
  • Saturday, April 3 — Springtime free day
  • Thursday, April 22 — Earth Day
  • Saturday, June 5 — National Trails Day
  • Saturday, June 12 — National Get Outdoors Day
  • Sunday, June 13 — Free Fishing Day
  • Wednesday, August 25 — National Park Service Birthday
  • Saturday, September 25 — National Public Lands Day
  • Thursday, November 11 — Veterans Day
  • Friday, November 26 — Autumn free day
Alyssa TherrienAlyssa Therrien

+ Listed
+ Health & Fitness
+ Curated
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT