20 shots of last night's gorgeous 'pink moon' above Montreal (PHOTOS)

Apr 8 2020, 11:13 am

A pink moon lit up Canadian skies last night and made for a beautiful pairing with Montreal’s rainbow-coloured landmarks.

The pink moon, an April phenomenon, is a form of supermoon that makes it appear a tad brighter and larger than usual.

According to the Old Farmer’s Almanac, the name comes from the Native American practice of giving titles to full moons. In April, the first sightings of herb moss pink and wild ground phlox, are signs of the earliest widespread flowers of the spring.

So no, the moon wasn’t really pink, but it made for quite the breathtaking sight.

If you didn’t get a chance to stargaze last night, here’s how the pink moon looked through Instagram’s lens this morning.

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by David Himbert (@dhimbert) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Yasuhiro (@tanuki_pilot_photos) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Fawaz Hajj Photography (@fawaz_hajj) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by 🌸𝔅𝔩𝔞𝔠𝔨 𝔓𝔞𝔫𝔱𝔥𝔢𝔯 🖤 (@kristelbautista13) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by MTLWave (@mtlwave) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by RICHARD CAVALLERI (@rcavalleri) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Marilú Cruz 🌺 (@sushi_wolf) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Antoine Léger (@heli_drone_images) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Mariline Chan (@the_wandereress) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by MontrealPhotography (@montrealphotography1) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Loïs (@puck_tiguidou) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Tanvi Javkar Photography (@tjavkar) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by MontrealPhotography (@montrealphotography1) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Nazanin Tehrani (@ntehrani1) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Colette Darsigny 🌟 (@darsi.co) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Loh You Mel (@youmel.loh) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by ScarletCoral (@scarletcoral) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Gabriel Barrientos (@_gabriel.bar_) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by 𝓣𝓪𝓷𝔂𝓪 𝓜𝓲𝓬𝓱𝓮𝓵𝓮™️ (@iamtanyamichele) on

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Lex Albrecht (@lex_albrecht) on