Tonight's Canadiens-Oilers game delayed due to COVID uncertainty

Feb 11 2021, 12:26 pm

Tonight’s game between the Montreal Canadiens and Edmonton Oilers will be delayed by one hour due to uncertainty regarding COVID-19 test results.

An Oilers player entered the NHL’s COVID protocol earlier today, the league announced. For that reason, the game, which was originally scheduled for 7 pm ET/5 pm MT, will now be played one hour later, at 8 pm ET/6 pm MT, “so as to allow for the completion and analysis of Oilers’ test results in advance of the game.”

A player can enter COVID protocol for numerous reasons; it does not necessarily mean he has contracted the virus.

Fingers crossed that this is just a precaution.

Numerous games south of the border have had to be rescheduled this year, as COVID-19 outbreaks have occurred to varying degrees with American NHL teams. To date, every game among the Canadian teams has been played as scheduled.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT