World Juniors do-or-die knockout round set to begin (SCHEDULE)

Jan 2 2019, 12:09 am

Now the real fun begins.

Wednesday marks the start of the knockout round at the World Junior Championship, beginning with four quarter-final matchups. It’s win or go home, so the pressure will be ramped up.

Because of their loss to Russia on Monday, Team Canada has a tough road to gold. They play Finland, who beat Canada 5-2 in the final pre-tournament game on December 23.

Rogers Arena in Vancouver will host three games on Wednesday, including Game 1 of a best-of-three relegation series between the two last-place teams, Kazakhstan and Denmark. That’s followed up by Canada vs Finland and Russia vs Slovakia.

Victoria hosts its final two games of the tournament, with Sweden taking on Switzerland, followed by USA vs Czech Republic.

The gold medal game is scheduled for Saturday in Vancouver.

Wednesday, January 2

  • Kazakhstan vs Denmark (relegation): 11 am PT / 2 pm ET
  • Sweden vs Switzerland: 1 pm PT / 4 pm ET
  • Canada vs Finland: 3:30 pm PT / 6:30 pm ET
  • USA vs Czech Republic: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET
  • Russia vs Slovakia: 7:30 pm PT / 10:30 pm ET

Friday, January 4

  • Denmark vs Kazakhstan (relegation): 9 am PT / 12 pm ET
  • Winner of USA/Czech Republic vs winner of Russia/Slovakia: 1 pm PT / 4 pm ET
  • Winner of Canada/Finland vs winner of Sweden/Switzerland: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

Saturday, January 5

  • Kazakhstan vs Denmark (relegation, if necessary): 9 am PT / 12 pm ET
  • Bronze medal game: 1 pm PT / 4 pm ET
  • Gold medal game: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET
See also