South Haven release new single, “Freefall"

Dec 19 2017, 2:32 am

Calgary indie rock band South Haven has just released a brand new song titled “Freefall.” The track is the first official single off of the group’s upcoming full-length album that is set to drop in the fall.

On “Freefall,” the band, comprised of Andrew Dion (drums), Daniel Hallam (guitar/vocals), Jaron Schoorlemmer (bass), and Lincoln Woo (guitars/vocals), slowly build up from dreamy riffs and dramatic undercurrents to fast-paced percussion and brawny chords. The movement of the sonic layers compliment the delivery of the vocals nicely, which are simultaneously smooth, moody, and melodic.

“Freefall” also impresses in its lyrics. With lines like “though we die tonight our hearts will see a thousand burning suns” and “I’d rather lose your love than lose this sensation,” the song’s narrative recites a poetic tale of love and heartbreak, and makes “Freefall” a well-rounded effort that upholds both substance and style.


DH Calgary StaffDH Calgary Staff

+ News