New Zealand adds new entry requirements for visitors from Canada, US, and more

Mar 26 2019, 5:19 am

Globetrotters, listen up.

First Europe announced theĀ ETIAS, a new travel authorization for visitorsĀ from over 60 countries. Then Brazil announced it was removing visa requirements for residents of Canada, USA, Australia, and Japan.

Now New Zealand is adding a couple extra steps for those wishing to visit the beautiful country, effective October 1, 2019.

Travellers looking to visit New Zealand from 60 visa waiver countries, including Canada and the US, will be required to hold a new security and facilitation measure called anĀ Electronic Travel Authority (ETA).

The ETA will last up to two years and cost $9 NZD (roughly $8 in Canadian dollars) for mobile requests, and $12 NZD ($10.70 CAD) for web browser requests.Ā Travellers will be able to request the ETA starting July 2019, and it will be mandatory in October 2019.


In addition, the government is introducing an International Visitor and Conservation Tourism Levy (IVL), costing $35 NZD (just over $31 CAD). The IVL will last as long as the ETA is valid.

ETA details

The ETA aims to:

  • enhance security and reduce immigration risks
  • address smuggling and biosecurity risks
  • improve the traveller experience
  • support New Zealandā€™s international relationships and agreements
  • adapt to the changing needs and requirements of the government, stakeholders and travellers over time.

The ETA is not a visa and citizens from these 60 countries will still not require a visaĀ if they are visiting for three months or less (or six months or less for British citizens). However, the new ETA will be required by all visitors from these countries, as well as all airline crew and cruise line crew. The ETA for these crews will require a Crew ETA, which will last up to give years and costs $9 NZD.


Australian citizens will need to hold an ETA but will not be required to pay the IVL.

Other ETA exemptions include:

  • crew and passengers on a non-cruise vessel
  • crew on a foreign ship carrying cargo
  • guests of the government
  • people travelling under The Antarctic Treaty
  • members of a visiting force and associated crew members.
Kellie PaxianKellie Paxian

+ Travel News
+ Mapped