Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Soccer, Sports

World Cup Report: Croatia knocks out England in comeback thriller

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Jul 11, 2018 1:56 pm 1,432

An England-France World Cup Final would have been a great story.

But if you like great stories, you’ll love the one Croatia is writing right now.

The tiny country of just over four million people which gained its independence in 1991, will play in its first-ever World Cup Final after a thrilling come-from-behind 2-1 win over England in extra time.

Croatia has needed extra time in each one of their knockout phase matches, defeating both Denmark and Russia in penalties.

Mario Mandzukic is the most popular man in his country today, as it was his goal in the 109th minute that gave Croatia the 2-1 lead.

England actually had a perfect start to the match, as a gorgeous strike on a free kick from Kieran Trippier opened the scoring in the fifth minute.

England looked to be in control until the 68th minute when Ivan Perisic’s poked in a cross to level the match.

Croatia will play France in the World Cup Final on Sunday at 8 am PT / 11 am ET, while England will play a consolation match for third place against Belgium on Saturday at 7 am PT / 10 am ET.

We’ve seen a lot of video of England fans losing their minds in recent weeks, but Croatia may have taken it to another level:

See also
Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.