Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Sports, Olympics

9 Rio 2016 Olympic events to watch today: Sunday, August 14

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 13, 2016 4:56 pm

A busy Sunday in Rio is highlighted by Andre De Grasse attempting to get Canada’s first Olympic medal in sprinting since Donovan Bailey in 1996.

Top events of the day:

  • Track and field: Andre De Grasse in 100 m sprint
  • Diving: Jennifer Abel and Pamela Ware in the 3 m springboard final
  • Beach Volleyball: Heather Bansley & Sarah Pavan in quarter-final

Here’s what you need to watch today, in chronological order.

1. Golf

  • 6:39 am PT (9:39 am ET): Men’s final round

The first golf medals in 112 years will be handed out on Sunday. Justin Rose (Great Britain) is the leader with a score of -12 heading into the final round. He’s followed by Sweden’s Henrik Stenson (-11) and Aussie Marcus Fraser (-9). That trio will tee-off at 6:39 am PT (9:39 am ET), with other competitors teeing off before then.

2. Tennis – Men’s singles final

  • Approx. 10 am PT (1 pm ET): Andy Murray (GBR) vs Juan Martin Del Potro (ARG)

Andy Murray is the heavy favourite for the gold medal after Juan Martin Del Potro upset Rafael Nadal in the semis.

3. Gymnastics

  • 10 am PT (1 pm ET): Men’s floor exercise final
  • 10:47 am PT (1:47 pm ET): Women’s vault final
  • 11:34 am PT (2:34 pm ET): Men’s pommel horse final
  • 12:21 pm PT (3:21 pm ET): Women’s uneven bars

Medals are on the line as the gymnastics competition continues.

4. Men’s Basketball

  • 10:15 am PT (1:15 pm ET): USA vs France

France will get their shot at the United States’ star-studded lineup on Sunday.

5. Diving

  • 12 pm PT (3 pm ET): Women’s 3 m springboard final

Jennifer Abel and Pamela Ware, teammates in the synchronized event, are contenders in the 3 m springboard. They both finished just off the podium in fourth place in synchro, and won’t want to leave Rio empty handed.

Abel had the third-best score in the semi-final, while Ware was ninth.

6. Beach Volleyball (quarter-final)

  • 12 pm PT (3 pm ET): Heather Bansley & Sarah Pavan (CAN) vs Laura Ludwig & Kira Walkenhorst (GER)

After beating fellow Canadians Jamie Broder and Kristina Valjas in the round of 16, Heather Bansley and Sarah Pavan face the #4-ranked team from Germany.

7. Women’s Basketball

  • 1:45 pm PT (4:45 pm ET): Canada vs Spain

Canada (3-1) plays Spain (3-1) on the final day of the group stage. The winner of this game will clinch second place in Group B, with the loser locking down third.

8. Boxing

  • 2:45 pm PT (5:45 pm ET): Arthur Biyarslanov (CAN) vs Artem Harutyunyan (GER)

The ‘Chechen Wolf’ is in the Round of 16, competing for Canada in the light welterweight competition.

9. Track and field

  • 4:55 pm PT (7:55 pm ET): Women’s triple jump final
  • 5 pm PT (8 pm ET): Men’s 100 m semi-final
  • 6 pm PT (9 pm ET): Men’s 400 m final
  • 6:25 pm PT (9:25 pm ET): Men’s 100 m final

Canadian Andre De Grasse ran the third fastest time (10.04 seconds) of all the first round heats in the 100-metre sprint. Justin Gatlin was the fastest (10.01), while Usain Bolt finished fourth (10.07). Of course, Bolt jogged for much of his race.

De Grasse is confident in his abilities, and it turns out he’s a pretty good quote too (quotes courtesy of TSN’s Mark Masters).

“I’ve heard he’s not in the best of shape right now so I feel like this a good chance for me to take him down,” De Grasse said of Bolt. “I’m going to try & contend for a gold medal. I feel like I’m capable of doing it this year against these guys.”

“I’m the healthiest I’ve been this whole year. I’m feeling pretty good. I’m ready. I’m ready to do something spectacular.”

“If I can get out of the blocks, I think my top-end speed is going to be able to hold if I can get out with him.”

See also


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.