Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Olympics, Sports

Olympic events to watch today, Day 1: Canada's Charles Hamelin goes for gold

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Feb 09, 2018 4:24 pm 1,348

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

Charles Hamelin first won our hearts at the Vancouver 2010 Olympics, when he won gold as his speed skating girlfriend (now-fiancee) Marianne St-Gelais lost her damn mind cheering him on.

Hamelin in action again on Day 1.

Must watch event: Charles Hamelin in the 1500 m final

Sport: Short track speed skating
Time: 4:22 am PT / 7:22 am ET

Hamelin is gunning for the fourth gold medal of his illustrious career on Day 1 of competition. The 1,500-metre final in short track speed skating, for which he’s the defending Olympic champion, takes place at 4:22 am PT / 7:22 am ET.

Hamelin will need to get there first, with heats beginning at 2 am PT / 5 am ET. The semi-final goes at 3:21 am PT / 6:21 am ET.

Canada in contention for a medal in long track

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 3 am PT / 6 am ET

Over on the long track, Canada’s Ivanie Blondin is a contender to get a medal in the women’s 3,000-metre race. This event was one of Cindy Klassen’s specialties, as she still owns the world record.

Canada sweeping their way through mixed doubles curling

Sport: Curling
Time: 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET

Canada’s Kaitlyn Lawes and John Morris enter Day 1 with a 3-1 record, as the new Olympic sport of mixed doubles curling began before the Opening Ceremony. They’re in action against Switzerland at 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET and face the Olympic Athletes from Russia at 3:05 am PT / 6:05 am ET.

Canadians qualifying heat in slopestyle

Sport: Snowboarding
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

A number of Canadians are in contention for slopestyle snowboarding, with qualification heats beginning at 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET. Sebastien Toutant races at 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET, while Mark McMorris, Tyler Nicholson, and Max Parrot race at 8 pm PT / 11 pm ET.

Medals will be handed out in ski jumping

Sport: Ski jumping
Time: 5:35 am PT / 8:35 am ET

Canada’s not a medal favourite in ski jumping, but that doesn’t make watching athletes soar through the air like birds any less impressive. Medals will be handed out as the men’s normal hill individual final goes at 5:35 am PT / 8:35 am ET.

A bunch of lugers

Sport: Luge
Time: 2:10 am PT / 5:10 am ET

Here’s another fun sport to watch. Men’s singles luge runs begin at 2:10 am PT / 5:10 am ET, with three Canadians taking part.

See also
Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.
© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.