Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Sports

The best Canadian athlete Halloween costumes of 2017

F502f7908ba095fe2659859b7d60ec54?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Daily Hive Staff Oct 31, 2017 2:21 pm 7,242

It’s nice to see that the spirit of Halloween is alive and well in the world of sports.

And as always, more than a handful of Canadian athletes dressed up for the holiday, with some costumes more questionable than others, of course.

There were plenty of TV and movie references, some truly impressive homemade getups, and loud costumes *cough* Connor McDavid *cough*.

Of course, we couldn’t feature every Canadian athlete that got dressed up, which is why we narrowed it down to our top 15.

Here are the best Canadian athlete Halloween costumes of 2017.

See also

Connor Brown (Toronto Maple Leafs)

A post shared by Connor Brown (@dtbrown28) on

Dodge, dip, dive, duck, and… Dodge.

Nazem Kadri (Toronto Maple Leafs)

A post shared by Nazem Kadri (@43kadri) on

A perfect Bob Ross.

Eric Gudbranson (Vancouver Canucks)

A post shared by Erik Gudbranson (@guddy44) on

Very shagadelic.

Troy Stretcher (Vancouver Canucks)

A post shared by Troy Stecher (@troystecher) on

Those tights.

Jonathan Bernier (Colorado Avalanche)

A post shared by Jonathan Bernier (@jobernier45) on

Terrifying.

Jake Virtanen (Vancouver Canucks)

A post shared by Michael Del Zotto (@mdzofficial) on

He dressed up as his Canucks teammate Michael Del Zotto, aka ‘DJ MDZ’.

Genie Bouchard (tennis)

A post shared by Genie Bouchard (@geniebouchard) on

Genie breaks the internet.

Connor McDavid (Edmonton Oilers)

A post shared by Lauren Kyle (@laurenkyle1) on

Not sure this was the best choice…

PK Subban (Nashville Predators)

Yeeehaw!

Jordan Subban (Vancouver Canucks)

A post shared by Jordan Subban (@subbs95) on

PK’s younger brother knows how to dress up too.

Chris Tanev and Markus Granlund (Vancouver Canucks)

A post shared by Markus Granlund (@amgeee) on

We’re not worthy.

Matthew Tkachuk, Sam Bennett, Brett Kulak (Calgary Flames)

"Your best player thinks he's a pirate"

A post shared by Matthew Tkachuk (@matthew_tkachuk) on

Not sure these three costumes together but…

Marc-Andre Fleury (Vegas Golden Knights)

A post shared by Veronique Larosee Fleury (@vlarosee) on

Amazing.

Kris Letang (Pittsburgh Penguins)

A post shared by Catherine Laflamme (@catherinelaflamme11) on

Ice cold.

Justin Williams (Carolina Hurricanes)

AHH!

Chris Kunitz (Tampa Bay Lightning)

A post shared by Maureen Kunitz (@mkunitz14) on

Straight out of a comic book.


F502f7908ba095fe2659859b7d60ec54?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Daily Hive Staff
Launched on June 1, 2016, Daily Hive is the evolution of Vancity Buzz and is now in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, and Montreal.

© 2017 Buzz Connected Media Inc.