Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Baseball, Sports

43 photos and videos of Blue Jays fans from Canada loving life in Seattle

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Jun 12, 2017 3:29 am 6,771

This might be getting crazier every year.

Once again, hoards of Blue Jays fans swarmed Seattle over the weekend. The Blue Jays’ annual trip to the Emerald City has become a must-see event for baseball fans in Western Canada.

Whether it was fans making the short drive from Vancouver, or elsewhere in British Columbia and Alberta, baseball fans made themselves seen and heard over the weekend.

So did the Blue Jays players, who took the series, winning 4-2 and 4-0 on Saturday and Sunday after dropping the series opener (4-2) on Friday.

With sunny weather and a weekend series, it was the perfect time for a road trip. Undeterred by long border waits, increased ticket costs, and skyrocketing hotel prices, Blue Jays fans not only outnumbered Mariners fans at Safeco Field, they were a whole lot louder.

It’s really a unique experience given that Seattle is as far away from Toronto as any city in Major League Baseball.

Huge lines of people dressed in blue and white waited patiently to get into the ballpark more than two hours before game time, as fans waited for a glimpse of their favourite players during warmup. Once the game started, Blue Jays fans represented approximately 60 to 70% of the stadium.

That was evident right from the get-go, as fans sang O Canada with great enthusiasm prior to the game.

Blue Jays fans took over the ballpark, as well as nearby bars and restaurants. For one weekend, Seattle was a Jays town.

Cool watching JD greeting the Canadian contingent!

A post shared by Steve Murray (@trailboy) on

I got a ball from Blue Jays first baseman Justin Smoak! Great Time at the Blue Jays vs Mariners!

A post shared by Austin (@ballhockeypro) on

Lodges take Seattle ⚾️️

A post shared by Claire Lodge (@clairedilodge) on

Overrun with Canucks #BlameCanada

A post shared by Mike Dore (@doregasm) on

All blue everything. #GoJaysGo ⚾️💙

A post shared by Caitlin (@zombieforyou) on

A fun weekend full of playful banter among fans and occasionally watching some baseball. #bluejays #mariners #beers #saturdaysarefortheboys

A post shared by 🇨🇦 Hero of time 🇨🇦 (@alliksaar_) on

best friend, brews, & blue jays 💙⚾️🍻

A post shared by Melissa Maas (@melissamaas) on

great day for baseball ⚾️⚾️⚾️⚾️ #whatjusthappened

A post shared by Kristin Knapp (@kristin_knapp) on

Another great day for a baseball game. Jays win the series! #osunamatata #GoJays #riseup #ilovethisteam #cometogether

A post shared by Drew Milliken (@drewbie_doobie_doo_) on

Not sure why anyone even bothered with a “let’s go Mariners” chant #ohcanada

A post shared by Ali Bonesky (@alibonesky) on

The Ja✌🏻s newest fans 👯 #whenshalftime #garlicfries

A post shared by Natasha Frakes (@natashafrakes) on

Blue Jays weekend! #bluejays #baseball #safecofield

A post shared by carlaparsons (@carlaparsons) on

There must a #Mariners fan in there somewhere….? #bluejays #jaysnation #safecofield

A post shared by Sophie Lui (@sophielui) on

Yeah she did!! Managed to get herself a ball! #battingpractice #batthebabyblues #bluejaysinseattle #jaysfan #canadaistakingover

A post shared by Tera Mazuren Degroot (@teradegroot) on

Legitimately 75% Jays fans at Safeco. #sorrey #letsgobluejays #gojaysgo @alexdouc

A post shared by Steve Lamb (@slamb33) on

Ladies night 💙#bluejays #wheninrome

A post shared by Kim Michelle (@kchellebeauty) on

Blue skies and garlic fries ⚾️🍟 #bluejays #mariners #seattle

A post shared by Kyla (@kygun) on

🎶Take me out to the ball game🎶 #gojaysgo 🍻⚾️

A post shared by Hilary (@hilarybiden) on

New jays socks and a Jays win #ladyjays #notenoughjay #sisters #baseballfan #gojaysgo ⚾️🍺

A post shared by Nicola Thebaud (@nicola_thebaud) on

Saturday night Blue Jays for the win!!! #bluejays #saturdaynight #bestfriends

A post shared by Kim Deith (@kimdeith) on

Oh Canada! 🇨🇦 (but GO @mariners!!) #mlb

A post shared by Cait (@cait8919) on

saturday’s are for the boys ⚾️ #Seattle

A post shared by justine elves (@justineelves) on

#saturdaysarefortheboys #gojaysgo #rainier #juneBug

A post shared by Jay Haasen (@jayhaashole) on

Enjoying my birthday at the game today! Thank you for all the birthday wishes! #playball #gojays #birthdaygirl

A post shared by Lori Anderson (@lori_anderson_) on

Torana Baseball Birds vs. Seattle Seehocks

A post shared by ANDY (@andyedweird) on

Closing time

A post shared by Steve Cavanagh (@scavie) on

Damn Canadians are good looking

A post shared by Konnor Richmond (@konnorrichmond) on

BOOOOOM!!!! #BlueJays

A post shared by Rob Williams (@dailyhiverob) on

See also

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.