Sedins deserve team MVP award every year

Dec 20 2017, 3:19 am

The Canucks beat the Tampa Bay Lightning last night, and once again we have the Sedins to thank. It was a team effort, of course, but Vancouver’s best players came up big again, combining forces on the winning goal.

[youtube id=”QmYo1wfRCgY”]

That’s Henrik Sedin undressing Jason Garrison at the blueline, then taking a hit from Nikita Kucherov to feed his brother Daniel, who lets go a perfectly placed bullet of a shot.

As the Canucks reach the Christmas break, just six games away from the midway point of the season, a lot of people will begin giving their pick for Canucks MVP. A lot of people will try to look outside of the box for this award, and I’ve done it too.

You know what? We get it wrong almost every year.

I know it’s boring to say the Sedins are the MVPs of the Canucks, but picking any other player on the team is usually a farce.

Last year, Radim Vrbata was the Canucks’ only representative at the All-Star Game, and was named team MVP at the end of the regular season. He had a good year, leading the team with 31 goals, so this isn’t an attack on Vrbata.

But maybe the team MVP should go to, hmm I don’t know, one of the guys who led the team in scoring? Daniel led the team in scoring with 76 points, while Henrik finished with 73 (Vrbata finished with 63 points). Those numbers were good enough to put them in the top-10 in the league in scoring (Daniel finished tied for 8th, Henrik tied for 10th).

This happens nearly every season.

The Sedins have had the two best careers in Canucks history. They are 1-2 in franchise points and have finished 1-2 in scoring for 9 straight seasons.


How many Cyclone Taylor Awards (team MVP) do they have? Collectively, just three. Henrik won the trophy in 2010 and 2012, while Daniel won it in 2011. Basically they have to win an Art Ross Trophy to get noticed.

Here’s the history of the award:

1970–71 Orland Kurtenbach 1992–93 Pavel Bure
1971–72 Orland Kurtenbach 1993–94 Pavel Bure
1972–73 Orland Kurtenbach 1994–95 Trevor Linden
1973–74 Gary Smith 1995–96 Trevor Linden
1974–75 Gary Smith 1996–97 Martin Gelinas
1975–76 Don Lever 1997–98 Pavel Bure
1976–77 Cesare Maniago 1998–99 Markus Naslund
1977–78 Cesare Maniago 1999–00 Mark Messier
1978–79 Thomas Gradin 2000–01 Markus Naslund
1978–79 Glen Hanlon 2001–02 Markus Naslund
1979–80 Stan Smyl 2002–03 Markus Naslund
1980–81 Richard Brodeur 2003–04 Markus Naslund
1981–82 Richard Brodeur 2004–05 2004–05 NHL lockout
1982–83 Stan Smyl 2005–06 Alex Auld
1983–84 Patrik Sundstrom 2006–07 Roberto Luongo
1984–85 Richard Brodeur 2007–08 Roberto Luongo
1985–86 Stan Smyl 2008–09 Ryan Kesler
1986–87 Barry Pederson 2009–10 Henrik Sedin
1987–88 Tony Tanti 2010–11 Daniel Sedin
1988–89 Trevor Linden 2011–12 Henrik Sedin
1989–90 Kirk McLean 2012–13 Cory Schneider
1990–91 Trevor Linden 2013–14 Ryan Kesler
1991–92 Kirk McLean 2014–15 Radim Vrbata

Markus Naslund won this award 5 times. They didn’t give the award to Todd Bertuzzi, Mattias Ohlund, or Ed Jovanovski to spice things up.

I mean, Daniel Sedin is about to become the team’s all-time leading goal scorer and he has the same number of team MVP awards as Mark Messier and Alex Auld! Hey, maybe one day Henrik Sedin will equal the number of MVP awards as Orland Kurtenbach!

So I get it, you want to look outside of the box. You want to give the MVP to Anson Carter, Jarkko Ruutu, or Kyle Wellwood. But let’s be real.

Pick Henrik or Daniel. That’s your MVP.

And do it every year.


DH Vancouver StaffDH Vancouver Staff

+ News