Friday, December 20 is expected to be the busiest shopping day of 2019

Dec 19 2019, 12:06 pm

Moneris, one of Canada’s largest debit and credit processors, has shared its prediction for when Canada’s busiest shopping day of 2019 will take place.

The company says that while Black Friday is considered to be the “biggest shopping day of the year” in terms of spending, Friday, December 20 (the Friday before Christmas) is predicted to be the busiest shopping day of the year.

Data from Moneris shows that in 2018, December 21 saw the highest number of transactions out of the entire year and even more money spent than on Boxing Day.

Jewellery stores, bookstores, drug stores, grocery stores, and clothing stores were particularly busy. Based on 2018’s data, 11 am PST (12 pm MST, 2 pm EST) will likely be the busiest hour.

The Friday before Christmas has also been the busiest shopping day (by the number of transactions) since 2013.

The financial tech company says that it’s not just purchasing last-minute presents; Canadians are also snagging essentials for parties and visits with friends and family, and general household items for the holidays and new year.

Businesses typically see a jump in the sales of gift cards as well, as shoppers rush to finish their holiday shopping lists.

Malcolm Fowler, Chief Strategic Partnership Officer at Moneris, says in an emailed statement that more than 25 million transactions are expected to take place tomorrow.