× Select City

Team Russia announces World Cup of Hockey roster

DH Vancouver Staff Mar 02, 2016 12:54 am

Team Russia has announced their first 16 players that will compete at the World Cup of Hockey this September in Toronto.

The World Cup of Hockey is an 8-team best-on-best tournament that has not taken place since 2004 when Canada defeated Finland in the final.

Each team has to announce their first 16 players today, and Russia was the first. Teams need to name the remaining 7 players by June 1.

It’s interesting to note that Russia named all 16 players from the NHL, choosing not to name any KHL players at this time. That means that Ilya Kovalchuk, who plays for St. Petersburg SKA, was not named today.

Russia was defeated in the quarterfinals of the 2014 Olympics and has not won a best-on-best tournament since 1981.


  • Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • Semyon Varlamov, Colorado Avalanche
  • Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning


  • Dmitry Kulikov, Florida Panthers
  • Andrei Markov, Montreal Canadiens
  • Dmitry Orlov, Washington Capitals


  • Artem Anisimov, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
  • Nikita Kucherov, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • Nikolay Kulemin, New York Islanders
  • Evgeny Kuznetsov, Washington Capitals
  • Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • Vladislav Namestnikov, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • Artemi Panarin, Chicago Blackhawks
  • Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis Blues









Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.

DH Vancouver Staff
Daily Hive is the evolution of Vancity Buzz, established in Vancouver in 2008. In 2016, the publication rebranded and opened newsrooms in Calgary, Toronto, and Montreal. Send story tips to [email protected]
© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.