× Select City

Vision Vancouver wins majority on Vancouver City Council

DH Vancouver Staff Nov 15, 2014 11:19 pm

The ballots are in and Vancouver’s newest City Council can be confirmed. Incumbents, largely Vision Vancouver party candidates, have dominated the ten seats in Vancouver City Council.

With the election of candidate Melissa De Genova, a Vancouver Park Board Commissioner, the Non-Partisan Association (NPA) has made headway into City Council by adding one additional seat for a total of three seats.

  • Vancouver City Council winners by party representation:
    • Vision Vancouver: 6
    • Non-Partisan Association: 3
    • Green Party of Vancouver: 1

The NPA was able to take control of the Vancouver Park Board by sweeping four of the seven Park Board Commissioner positions. Vision Vancouver candidate Trevor Loke, the only incumbent Park Board Commissioner running for re-election, came short at tenth place.

  • Vancouver Park Board winners by party representation:
    • Vision Vancouver: 1
    • Non-Partisan Association: 4
    • Green Party of Vancouver: 2

Gregor Robertson was re-elected for a third term as the Mayor of Vancouver with 83,529 votes, besting NPA challenger Kirk Lapointe’s 73,443 votes.

Vancouver City Council 2014-2018

1. Adrianne Carr

adrianne carr
Image: Green Party

2. George Affleck


3. Elizabeth Ball


4. Melissa De Genova


5. Heather Deal


6. Kerry Jang

  • Party: Vision Vancouver
  • Votes won: 62,595
  • Electoral history: Incumbent
  • Twitter: n/a


7. Andrea Reimer


8. Raymond Louie


9. Tim Stevenson


10. Geoff Meggs



Feature Image: Vision Vancouver

Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.

DH Vancouver Staff
Daily Hive is the evolution of Vancity Buzz, established in Vancouver in 2008. In 2016, the publication rebranded and opened newsrooms in Calgary, Toronto, and Montreal. Send story tips to [email protected]
© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.