Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Olympics, Sports

9 Rio 2016 Olympic events to watch today: Friday, August 12

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 11, 2016 4:12 pm

Friday is perhaps the busiest day of the Olympics, as we reach Day 7 and there are a number of great Canadian storylines.

Top events of the day:

  • Women’s soccer quarter-final: Canada vs France
  • Swimming final: Hilary Caldwell
  • Tennis bronze medal game: Daniel Nestor and Vasek Pospisil
  • Trampoline final: Rosie MacLennan

Here’s what you need to watch today, in chronological order.

1. Rowing

  • Women’s lightweight double sculls final: 5:10 am PT (8:10 am ET)
  • Men’s four final: 5:40 am PT (8:40 am ET)

Canada will race in two rowing finals on Friday, with their best chance likely in the women’s lightweight double sculls, where they posted the second fastest time, behind the Netherlands.

The men’s four have a shot as well, after rowing the second fastest time in their semi-final.

2. Track and Field

  • Women’s heptathlon (100 m hurdles): 5:35 am PT (8:35 am ET)
  • Men’s 20 km race walk: 10:30 am PT (1:30 pm ET)
  • Women’s heptathlon (shot put): 4:35 pm PT (7:35 pm ET)
  • Women’s heptathlon (200 m): 6:05 pm PT (9:05 pm ET)

Track and field begins on Friday, and Canada’s best hope will be in action. Heptathlete Brianne Theisen-Eaton will begin Day 1 of her event. She’s the #1 ranked athlete in her event.

Also in morning action are Ben Thorne, Inaki Gomez, and Evan Dunfee, a trio of Canadians in the 20 km race walk. Thorne won bronze in this event at the Worlds last year and is ranked fourth. Gomez is ranked ninth, while Dunfee is ranked 19th.

3. Boxing

  • Mandy Bujold (Canada) vs Yodgoroy Mirzaeva (Uzbekistan): 7:15 am PT (10:15 am ET)

Cobourg, Ontario’s Mandy Bujold enters the round of 16 as a medal hopeful. She’s the seventh-ranked boxer in the 51 kg weight class and won a gold medal at the Pan Am Games last year.

4. Women’s Basketball

  • Canada vs USA: 11:30 am PT (2:30 pm ET)

Canada marches into their fourth game of the tournament tied with the US, each with 3-0 records. Barring a minor miracle, they’ll suffer their first loss to the powerhouse Americans who have won all of their games by at least 26 points.

5. Trampoline

  • Women’s trampoline final: 11:42 am PT (2:42 pm ET)

Canada’s flag bearer and defending gold medalist Rosie MacLennan will in action. She’s ranked fifth coming into these Olympics.

6. Tennis

  • Daniel Nestor & Vasek Pospisil (Canada) vs Steve Johnson & Jack Sock (USA): approx. 1:30 pm PT (4:30 pm ET)

Sixteen years after capturing gold for Canada, Daniel Nestor will have a chance at another medal. In all likelihood, it will be the Olympic swan song for the 43-year-old who wouldn’t be in this position if not for Milos Raonic pulling out of the tournament. For Vernon’s Vasek Pospisil, he’ll be squaring off against his usual doubles partner, Jack Sock.

7. Cycling

  • Women’s track team sprint finals: 2 pm PT (5 pm ET)

Canada will need to secure a spot for the final during qualifications at 12 pm PT/3 pm ET.

8. Women’s Soccer

  • Canada vs France: 3 pm PT (6 pm ET)

It’s the rematch of London 2012’s bronze medal match, this time in the quarter-final. Canada is an impressive 3-0 in the Olympics so far, but they haven’t been rewarded for it by drawing the French. France is a tough team to beat, and Canada is actually the underdog in this one.

9. Swimming

  • Women’s 200 m backstroke final: 6:03 pm PT (9:03 pm ET)
  • Men’s 100 m butterfly final: 6:12 pm PT (9:12 pm ET)
  • Women’s 800 m freestyle final: 6:20 pm PT (9:20 pm ET)
  • Men’s 50 m freestyle final: 6:44 pm PT (9:44 pm ET)

White Rock’s Hilary Caldwell has an excellent chance at a medal. She posted the second fastest time in the 200-metre backstroke semi-final and will race in the final on Friday.

American Michael Phelps will be racing in the 100-metre butterfly final, trying to add yet another gold medal to his collection.

If you’re wondering when you can see star Canadian swimmer Penny Oleksiak next, she’ll be swimming with the 4×100 m medley relay team in the first heat, at 11:30 am PT (2:30pm ET). The final for that event is on Saturday.

See also


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.