Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Olympics, Sports

Olympic events to watch today, Day 6: Canada begins its quest for gold in men's hockey

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Feb 14, 2018 11:39 am 1,201

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

After a relatively quiet day for Canada at the Winter Olympics in PyeongChang, Day 6 promises to be a busy one.

Canada kicks off the men’s hockey tournament against Switzerland

mason raymond hockey canada

Image: Hockey Canada / Twitter

Sport: Hockey
Time: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET

It’ll be interesting to see how Canada reacts to its men’s hockey team in the first Olympics without NHL players since 1994. Will this be a group of plucky underdogs that the country falls in love with? Or will the tournament be greeted with a collective yawn?

Either way, this tournament promises to be the most competitive in years. Two games have been played already – both upsets – with Russia losing to Slovakia and USA losing to Slovenia.

Canada vs USA in women’s hockey

natalie-spooner-canada-women-hockey

Image: Team Canada / Twitter

Sport: Hockey
Time: 7:10 pm PT / 10:10 pm ET

The greatest rivalry in hockey happens to be in the women’s game, between Canada and the United States. This is the last game of the round robin, so it won’t mean much in the standings, but make no mistake: this game matters.

Duhamel and Radford in medal contention

duhamel-radford-canada

Image: Team Canada / Twitter

Sport: Figure skating
Time: 5:30 pm PT / 8:30 pm ET

Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford are in third place after the short program, with medals to be handed out after the free skate. The Canadian pairs skaters already have a gold medal from these Olympics in the team event, but have never won a medal in the individual competition.

Canada in contention for a medal in luge team relay

doubles luge canada olympics

Image: Team Canada / Twitter

Sport: Luge
Time: 4:30 am PT / 7:30 am ET

This is Canada’s chance at a medal in the same event where they feel they were robbed in Sochi.

Four years ago, Canada finished fourth in the team relay competition. Two months ago, it looked like they would be moved up to bronze after the Russian doping scandal. Then, earlier this month, Russia won its appeal and Canada remained in fourth.

Bloemen goes for his second medal in speed skating

Ted-Jan-Bloemen-canada

Image: Team Canada / Twitter

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 3 am PT / 6 am ET

Canada’s Ted-Jan Bloemen is looking for his second medal of these Olympics, after winning silver in the 5,000-metre race. He’s a medal threat and the current world record holder in his next race, the 10,000-metre race.

Jordan Belchos is another Canadian in the hunt.

Curling

koe curling canada olympics

Image: Team Canada / Twitter

Sport: Curling
Time: 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET

Canada will look to continue its dominance on the curling rink.

Our women’s team begins competition against South Korea (4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET). They’ll play again against Sweden (3:05 am PT / 6:05 am ET) later in the day.

After a 2-0 start, Canada’s men’s team has just one game on tap, against Norway at 9:05 pm PT / 12:05 am ET.

Men’s downhill

Sport: Alpine skiing
Time: 6:30 pm PT / 9:30 pm ET

At long last, the men’s downhill will get going… weather permitting of course. The race was rescheduled because of high winds.

Canada isn’t expected to win a medal in this event, but they have some skiers in the race.

 

See also

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.