Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Olympics, Sports

Olympic events to watch today, Day 8: Hockey's on in prime time

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Feb 16, 2018 12:30 pm 1,806

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

Because of the time difference with PyeongChang, Canadians have been forced to watch the Winter Olympics at odd hours. That’s why when you see Team Canada playing in men’s hockey at a relatively reasonable hour, it jumps off the page.

Canada plays in prime time

canada-hockey-olympics-men

Image: Hockey Canada / Twitter

Sport: Hockey
Time: 7:10 pm PT / 10:10 pm ET

After winning their opening game, Team Canada is back in action in men’s hockey against the Czech Republic. A win would set them up very well to finish in first place in their group, given Canada’s final game of the round robin is against Korea – a team they should beat with ease.

Patrick Chan guns for a medal

patrick chan olympics

Image: Mike Ridewood / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Figure skating
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

Canada’s Patrick Chan is scheduled to skate fourth-last in the men’s free skate. A medal is on the line for the Canadian, who sits in sixth place with a 90.01 score after the short program.

A busy day in short track

charles hamelin

Image: Mike Ridewood / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Short track speed skating
Time: 2 am PT / 5 am ET

It should be another action packed day of speed skating, as Canada has many medal hopefuls in short track.

Kim Boutin, Valerie Maltais, and Marianne St-Gelais are all contenders in the women’s 1,500-metre final. Boutin already has a bronze medal in the 500-metre event, before being subjected to online threats by some Korean fans who were upset their skater was disqualified.

Here’s when to watch:

  • Women’s 1,500 m heats: 2 am PT / 5 am ET
  • Women’s 1,500 m semi-finals: 3:13 am PT / 6:13 am ET
  • Women’s 1,500 m final: 4:05 am PT / 7:05 am ET

The men’s 1,000-metre race is also taking place, with St-Gelais’ fiancee Charles Hamelin skating. Samuel Girard is also a medal threat for Canada.

Here’s a look at the schedule:

  • Men’s 1,000 m quarter-finals: 2:44 am PT / 5:44 am ET
  • Men’s 1,000 m semi-finals: 3:43 am PT / 6:43 am ET
  • Men’s 1,000 m final: 4:21 am PT / 7:21 am ET

Curling round robin matches

Sport: Curling
Time: 9:05 pm PT / 12:05 am ET

Pressure’s on for Rachel Homan and the Canadian women’s curling team. They’re 0-3 and desperate for a win. You can watch them play USA at 3:05 am PT / 6:05 am ET.

The 4-0 men’s team plays Sweden at 9:05 pm PT / 12:05 am ET.

Ski slopestyle final

Sport: Freestyle skiing
Time: 8:56 pm PT / 11:56 pm ET

Canada has three entries in the ski slopestyle event, with Kim Lamarre, Yuki Tsubota, and Dara Howell competing. Howell is the defending Olympic champion in this event, having won gold four years ago in Sochi.

Qualification runs begin at 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET, with the final scheduled for 8:56 pm PT / 11:56 pm ET.

Skeleton

Sport: Skeleton
Time: 4:45 am PT / 7:45 am ET

Canada’s Elisabeth Vathje sits in eighth place after the first two runs. There’s two more to go, with Heat 3 taking place at 3:20 am PT / 6:20 am ET, and Heat 4 scheduled for 4:45 am PT / 7:45 am ET before medals are handed out.

See also
Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.