Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Olympics, Sports

Olympic events to watch today, Day 4: Canada curling for Gold

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Feb 12, 2018 7:04 am 1,631

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

It has been an incredibly successful Winter Olympics for Canada through the first three days of competition, with big potential coming up on Day 4. Canada enters the day with seven medals (2 gold, 4 silver, 1 bronze), the second-most of any country in PyeongChang so far.

Must see event: Mixed doubles curling gold medal game

 

Sport: Curling
Time: 3:05 am PT / 6:05 am ET

Kaitlyn Lawes and John Morris steamrolled through the competition during the round robin in the new Olympic sport of mixed doubles curling. With a 6-1 record, the Canadian duo made quick work of most teams.

There were some nervous moments again Norway in the semi-final though, but ultimately they prevailed. The pressure will be on against Switzerland in the final.

Canadians in contention in short track

marianne-st-gelais

Image: Winston Chow / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Short track speed skating
Time: 4:07 am PT / 7:07 am ET

After a couple of days off, Day 4 is another big day for short track speed skating.

Medals will be handed out in the women’s 500-metre competition, with Canadians Marianne St-Gelais and Kim Boutin each having excellent chances of landing on the podium.

They’ll need to get through the quarter-finals (2 am PT / 5 am ET) and semi-finals (3:11 am PT / 6:11 am ET) first, with the final taking place at 4:07 am PT / 7:07 am ET.

Gough has a chance at history

alex gough luge

Image: Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Luge
Time: 2:30 am PT / 5:30 am ET

Canada has never won a medal in Olympic luge and Alex Gough has a great chance to become the first. She’s currently third through two runs (0.191 behind the leader), with just two more to go.

Canadian speed skaters with a chance in men’s 1500 m final

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 3 am PT / 6 am ET

Vincent de Haitre, who placed fourth at the World Championships last year, represents Canada’s best chance for a medal in the men’s 1500-metre final.

Also competing is the bronze medallist in this race at Sochi 2014, Denny Morrison. The mere fact Morrison is racing is a win, as the Fort St John, BC resident suffered a stroke two years ago.

Canada vs Finland in women’s hockey

Sport: Hockey
Time: 11:40 pm PT / 2:40 am ET

Things don’t usually get serious in women’s hockey until Canada plays the United States (two days away), but don’t overlook Finland. They gave the Americans a game, losing 3-1.

Women’s halfpipe final

Sport: Snowboard
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

No Canadians in medal contention, but the halfpipe competition is always a must-watch.

See also
Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.
© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.