Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Sports, Olympics

5 Rio 2016 Olympic events to watch today: Sunday, August 7

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 06, 2016 6:25 pm

Canada had an excellent first day of full competition at the Rio 2016 Olympics. Not only did we win our first medal in swimming, but we won our preliminary games in rugby, soccer, and basketball.

What do we have to look forward to on Day 2? Let’s find out…

1. Men’s Volleyball

  • Canada vs USA: 1:05 pm PT ( 4:05 pm ET)

Canada is back in the Olympics in men’s volleyball for the first time since 1992, and they will face a rival right off the bat. The Americans are ranked 5th in the world, while Canada is ranked 12th.

2. Swimming

  • Women’s 100 m butterfly final: 6:03 pm PT (9:03 pm ET)

Canadians Penny Oleksiak and Noemie Thomas should be in the mix for the 100-metre bufferfly final. The two are ranked 5th and 6th respectively.

  • Men’s 100 m breaststroke final: 6:53 pm PT (9:53 pm ET)

Adam Peaty of Great Britain is the current World Champion in this event.

  • Women’s 400 m freestyle final: 7:01 pm PT (10:01 pm ET)

Brittany MacLean finished 7th in this event four years ago as an 18-year-old.

  • Men’s 4×100 m freestyle relay: 7:52 pm PT (10:52 pm ET)

Canada finished 6th in this event at last year’s World Championships. Santo Condorelli, Yuri Kisil, Markus Thormeyer, and Evan Van Moerkerke will try to improve upon that on Sunday.

3. Women’s Diving

  • Women’s Synchronised 3 m springboard final: 12 pm PT (3 pm ET)

Jennifer Abel and Pamela Ware come into the event ranked fourth behind China, Italy, and Ukraine.

4. Women’s Rugby Sevens

  • Canada vs Great Britain: 8:30 am PT (11:30 am ET)
  • Quarterfinals vs France: 1:30 pm (4:30 pm ET)

Canada won both of their games on Saturday, defeating Japan and Brazil, leaving them in a good spot on Sunday.

*Update: Canada lost 22-0 to Great Britain on Sunday morning, setting up a quarterfinal against France.

5. Women’s Beach Volleyball

  • Heather Bansley & Sarah Pavan (Canada) vs Jantinevan der Vlist & Sophievan Gestel (Netherlands): 11:30 am PT (2:30 pm ET)
  • Jamie Lynn Broder & Kristina Valjas (Canada) vs LauraGiombini & MartaMenegatti (Italy): 6 pm PT (9 pm ET)

Two Canadian teams are in competition on the beach at Copacabana on Sunday. Bansley and Pavan are Canada’s best hope in this competition, ranked 15th in the world. Broder and Valjas are ranked 36th.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.