Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Olympics, Sports

7 Rio 2016 Olympic events to watch today: Monday, August 15

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 14, 2016 1:39 pm

We’re on to Day 10 of competition at the Olympics in Rio, and Canada has performed exceptionally well. We’ve had a medal to celebrate every day so far, the first time our country has ever achieved such a feat this deep into the Games.

It’s a relatively light day in terms of intriguing Canadian storylines, although Canada has a strong entry in the pole vault competition.

Top events of the day:

  • Pole vault: Shawn Barber
  • Volleyball: Canada vs Italy

Here’s what you need to watch today, in chronological order.

1. Canoe/Kayak

  • 6:30 am PT (9:30 am ET): Men’s canoe (C1) 1000 m semi-finals
  • 6:46 am PT (9:46 am ET): Women’s kayak (K2) 500 m semi-finals 
  • 7 am PT (10 am ET): Women’s kayak (K1) 200 m semi-finals
  • 7:21 am PT (10:21 am ET): Men’s kayak (K1) 1000 m semi-finals 

The canoe and kayak sprints begin and Canada has a number of medal contenders. 

Mark Oldershaw won bronze four years ago in C1-1000 m. Andreanne Langlois won gold at the Pan Am Games last year in the K1-200 m. Adam van Koeverden is competing in his fourth Olympics in the K1-1000 m, but is not expected to add to his medal collection this time.

2. Gymnastics

  • 10 am PT (1 pm ET): Men’s rings final
  • 10:54 am PT (1:54 pm ET): Men’s vault final
  • 11:46 am PT (2:46 pm ET): Women’s beam final

Medals are on the line as the gymnastics competition continues.

3. Men’s Basketball

  • 10:15 am PT (1:15 pm ET): Nigeria vs Brazil
  • 3 pm PT (6 pm ET): Spain vs Argentina
  • 6:30 pm PT (9:30 pm ET): Lithuania vs Croatia

The final day of the preliminary round, lots is on the line as teams try to qualify for the quarter-final.

4. Men’s Beach Volleyball – Quarter-finals

  • 12 pm PT (3 pm ET): Dalhausser & Lucena (USA) vs Cerutti & Oscar Schmidt (BRA)
  • 1 pm PT (4 pm ET): Nummerdor & Varenhorst (NED) vs Brouwer & Meeuwsen (NED)
  • 7 pm PT (10 pm ET): Nicolai & Lupo (ITA) vs Barsuk & Liamin (RUS)
  • 8 pm PT (11 pm ET): Krasilnikov & Semenov (RUS) vs Diaz Gomez & Gonzalez Bayard

We’re into the quarter-finals at Copacabana Beach.

5. Boxing – Heavyweight Gold Medal Bout

  • 3:15 pm PT (6:15 pm ET): Evgeny Tishchenko (RUS) vs Vassiliy Levit (KAZ)

The title of heavyweight champion in men’s boxing is on the line.

6. Men’s Volleyball

  • 4:30 pm PT (7:30 pm ET): Canada vs Italy

Canada, with a 2-2 record, is tied with France, Brazil, and the United States in Pool A heading into the final day of the preliminary round. Italy is at the top of the group at 4-0, so this is a meaningless game for them.

Canada is in danger of finishing fifth in the group, which would eliminate them. Winning the game, or at least a set, could help their cause.

7. Track and Field

  • 4:35 pm PT (7:35 pm ET): Men’s pole vault final
  • 6:25 pm PT (9:35 pm ET): Men’s 800 m final
  • 6:45 pm PT (9:45 pm ET): Women’s 400 m final

Canada’s Shawn Barber is a medal threat in the pole vault. He’s the #2 pole vaulter in the world heading in to the competition.

See also


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.