× Select City
Sports, Olympics

Olympic events to watch today, Day 2: Canada could own the podium in slopestyle

Rob Williams Feb 10, 2018 2:06 pm 988

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

After a medal-less first day at the Winter Olympics in PyeongChang, Canada enters Day 2 with some strong contenders. That’s no more true than in the sport of slopestyle snowboard, where Canada has the top two contenders heading into the final.

And the best part? It’s on during prime time.

Must see event: 4 Canadians in the men’s slopestyle final

mark mcmorris snowboard sochi 2014

Image: Jason Ransom / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Snowboarding
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

Four Canadian snowboarders have qualified for the men’s slopestyle final, with Max Parrot and Mark McMorris posting the two best scores in the qualifying heats. With Tyler Nicholson and Sebastien Toutant also posting solid scores, it’s not inconceivable that we could see Canada sweep the podium in the final.

Dare to dream.

Women’s moguls final

dufour-lapointe-sochi 2014

Image: Mike Ridewood / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Freestyle skiing
Time: 4 am PT / 7 am ET

Canada is always strong in moguls, and this year is no exception. Andi Naude has qualified for the final with the second-best score while Sochi 2014 gold medal winner Justine Dufour-Lapointe finished fourth.

Chloe Dufour-Lapointe, who shared the podium with her sister Justine with a silver medal result four years ago, still needs to qualify for the final.

World record holder ready for men’s 5000-metre final

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 11 pm PT / 2 am ET

Dutch-born Ted-Jan Bloemen, who now races for Canada, set the world record in this event just two months ago.

Alex Harvey races in cross country

alex harvey cross country skiing sochi 2014

Image: Jason Ransom / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Cross country skiing
Time: 10:15 pm PT / 1:15 am ET

Canada’s only medal hope in cross country skiing races on Day 2, with a medal on the line. The first North American to ever win a 50 km cross-country skiing world championship races in the men’s 15 + 15 km skiathlon.

Another chance at Canada’s first-ever medal in luge

sam edney luge canada

Image: Jason Ransom / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Luge
Time: 3 am PT / 6 am ET

Canada’s Sam Edney is in fifth place heading into the final two runs in men’s luge. It’s another at our country’s first-ever medal in the sport after a Russian doping ban appeal stole a bronze medal away from Edney and his teammates last month.

Figure skating team event

Sport: Figure skating
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

Canada’s star-studded figure skaters are ready to go for the second day of competition in the team event, currently sitting in first place.

Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir skate in ice dancing (5 pm PT / 8 pm ET), Kaetlyn Osmond is Canada’s entry in the women’s short program (6:45 pm PT / 9:45 pm ET), and Meagan Duhamel and Eric Radford round out the day in the pairs competition (8:40 pm PT / 11:45 pm ET).

A chance to lock up first place for Lawes and Morris

Sport: Curling
Time: 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET

Kaitlyn Lawes and John Morris will have to contend with an enthusiastic pro-Korea crowd as they face the host nation (2-4) in their final round robin match in mixed doubles curling. Canada is in first place with a 5-1 record and can secure top spot with a win.

Men’s downhill final

Sport: Alpine skiing
Time: 6 pm PT / 9 pm ET

Canada doesn’t have a strong medal contender, but the men’s downhill final is always an event to keep an eye on.

Canada begins play in women’s hockey

Sport: Hockey
Time: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET

Watch Canada claim their first victim in women’s hockey against the Olympic Athletes from Russia team.

See also

Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.