× Select City
Olympics, Sports

Olympic events to watch today, Day 15: Mark McMorris goes for another medal

Rob Williams Feb 23, 2018 11:00 am 969

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

Mark McMorris looks to add to his amazing story, as he looks for his second medal of the Olympics in the exciting new sport of big air snowboarding.

Must-see event: Big air final

Sport: Snowboard
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

Big air will crown its first-ever Olympic champion. McMorris, Sebastien Toutant, and Tyler Nicholson all qualified in the top 10, so Canada’s not short on medal hopes.

Expect some super-human performances in this extreme sport.

Canada goes for bronze in men’s hockey

Sport: Hockey
Time: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET

After losing a shocker to Germany in the semi-final, Canada will play for bronze – not gold – in men’s hockey. Their opponent is the Czech Republic, a team that beat them in the round robin.

Speed skating mass start

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 4:30 am PT / 7:30 am ET

Another brand new Olympic event, mass start speed skating brings some of the excitement we’re used to seeing at short track to the oval.

The semi-finals kick off at 3 am PT / 6 am ET, with the finals beginning at 4:30 am PT / 7:30 am ET. Olivier Jean is Canada’s lone entry in the men’s race, while Ivanie Blondin and Keri Morrison will compete in the women’s event.

Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.