× Select City
Sports, Olympics

Olympic events to watch today, Day 14: Canada looks for a spot in the gold medal game

Rob Williams Feb 22, 2018 11:00 am 1,721

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

All eyes will be on our men’s hockey team, as Canada has a chance to return to the gold medal game for a third-straight Olympic Games.

Must-watch event: Canada vs Germany in the semis


Image: Hockey Canada / Twitter

Sport: Hockey
Time: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET

Without NHL participation this year, this has proved to be a plucky group representing Canada on the world stage. Their only blemish so far is a shootout loss to the Czech Republic.

Standing in Canada’s way is Germany, a surprise semi-finalist after upsetting Sweden in the semis.

The winner of this game will take on the winner of the other semi-final, between Russia (OAR) and the Czech Republic (11:40 pm PT / 2:40 am ET). The gold medal game is on Saturday at 8:10 pm PT / 11:10 pm ET.

Osmond and Daleman in women’s free skate

Sport: Figure skating
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

Medals will be awarded after the women’s free skate and Canada has two skaters in contention for a medal. Kaetlyn Osmond is third after the short program while Gabrielle Daleman sits seventh.

Both Osmond and Daleman stood on the podium last year, so expectations are high.

Women’s ski cross final

Sport: Freestyle skiing
Time: 6:20 pm PT / 9:20 pm ET

Four Canadians are in the field for women’s ski cross, including the defending Olympic champion Marielle Thompson. Brittany Phelan, India Sherret, and Kelsey Serwa are in the mix as well.

Speed skating men’s 1,000-metre final

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 2 am PT / 5 am ET

Keep an eye on the oval, as Canada’s Vincent de Haitre – the third-ranked skater in this event – goes for a spot on the podium. Laurent Dubreuil and Alexandre St-Jean also have a shot as well.

Men’s curling bronze medal game

Sport: Curling
Time: 10:35 pm PT / 1:35 am ET

It’s not the medal Kevin Koe and the Canadian men’s curling team wanted to play for, but they will look for a spot on the podium in the bronze medal game against Switzerland.

Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.