× Select City
Sports, Olympics

Olympic events to watch today, Day 12: Canada vs Finland in men's hockey quarter-final

Rob Williams Feb 20, 2018 2:15 pm 1,567

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

After a busy day for Team Canada that delivered two gold medals, things aren’t slowing down for our Olympic team in PyeongChang on Day 12.

Must-watch event: Quarter-final hockey


Image: Hockey Canada / Twitter

Sport: Hockey
Time: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET

The preliminary round is over and now the real fun starts. It’s win or go home time for Canada as they get a stiff test against Finland in the men’s hockey quarter-final.

You’ll need to set your alarm clock for it though (puck drops at 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET).

Finland had a bit of trouble with South Korea in the qualification game, but were good preliminary round, finishing with a 2-1 record.

Canada’s only blemish so far was a shootout loss to the Czech Republic.

Other quarter-final matchups include:

  • Czech Republic vs USA: 7:10 pm PT / 10:10 pm ET
  • Russia (OAR) vs Norway: 11:40 pm PT / 2:40 am ET
  • Sweden vs Germany: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET

Men’s ski cross final

Sport: Freestyle skiing
Time: 9:35 pm PT / 12:35 am ET

Canada has a good chance at a medal with four entries in men’s ski cross, with seeding beginning at 6:30 pm PT / 9:30 pm ET. The big final goes at 9:35 pm PT / 12:35 am ET.

Christopher Delbosco won this event on the World Cup circuit this season, while Kevin Drury has a second-place finish to go with four top-10 finishes.

Kaillie Humphries goes for another medal in women’s bobsleigh

Sport: Bobsleigh
Time: 5 am PT / 8 am ET

The Olympic champion in 2010 and 2014, Canada’s Kaillie Humphries is gunning for a hat trick of gold medals in women’s bobsleigh. She’s got work to do though.

She and her new running-mate Phylicia George are in fifth place heading into the third run (3:40 am PT / 6:40 am ET). The fourth and final run begins at 5 am PT / 8 am ET.

Team pursuit

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 3:06 am PT / 6:06 am ET

It’s team pursuit day at the oval, as Canada’s men’s and women’s long track speed skaters are in action. Canada is matched up against Japan at 3:06 am PT / 6:06 am ET in the women’s race, while our Canadian men face USA at 4:13 am PT / 7:13 am ET.

Bronze and gold medal races for both the men and women begin at 4:52 am PT / 7:52 am ET and last until 5:17 am PT / 8:17 am ET.

Osmond and Daleman compete in women’s figure skating

Sport: Figure skating
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

With ice dance out of the way, it’s time for the women’s short program. Canada has a pair of medal threats in Kaetlyn Osmond and Gabrielle Daleman.

Medals will be decided on Thursday after the free skate.

Last day of round robin in curling

Sport: Curling
Time: 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 am ET

Canada is having way more trouble in curling than anyone imagined. While that’s concerning to our medal hopes, it also increases the drama of the preliminary round.

Our women’s team is 3-4, on the outside looking in for a playoff spot, with two games to go. They need to win both of their games (vs Great Britain at 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET, vs OAR at 3:05 am PT / 6:05 am ET) in order to have a chance to make the semi-finals.

Our men’s team sits at 5-3, in playoff spot, but not by much, with one game remaining against Denmark (9:05 pm PT / 12:05 am ET).

See also

Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.