× Select City
Sports, Olympics

Olympic events to watch today, Day 11: Virtue and Moir go for gold TONIGHT

Rob Williams Feb 19, 2018 12:24 pm 2,675

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

It’s the moment we’ve all been waiting for. Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir will skate for gold, likely for the last time at an Olympic Games.

Must watch event: Virtue and Moir go for gold


Image: CBC

Sport: Figure skating
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

After posting a world record score in the short program, Canada’s Virtue and Moir can’t rest on their laurels. With France’s Gabriella Papadakis and Guillaume Cizeron close behind, the Canadians will need another great score in the free dance in order to secure gold.

They’re scheduled to skate last tonight, which will only add to the suspense.

See also

Cassie Sharpe leads heading into ski halfpipe final

Sport: Freestyle skiing
Time: 5:30 pm PT / 8:30 pm ET

With qualification scores of 93.40 and 93.00, Comox, BC’s Cassie Sharpe posted the two-best runs heading into the final of the women’s ski halfpipe. She’s got a serious shot at gold.

Short track relay final

Sport: Short track speed skating
Time: 3:23 am PT / 6:23 am ET

Canada has qualified for the women’s 3,000-metre relay final, an event our country has earned a silver medal in the past two Olympics. The team of Marianne St-Gelais, Kim Boutin, Jamie MacDonald, and Kasandra Bradette aren’t the favourites, but certainly have a shot at a medal.

If they find a way onto the podium, it’ll be Boutin’s third medal of the Games.

Crunch time for Canada’s curlers

Sport: Curling
Time: 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET

Canada’s men’s and women’s curling teams have had an unusually difficult time through the round robin so far.

After a 4-0 start, our men’s team has dropped three in a row. They play Japan at 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET.

Meanwhile, our women’s team has won three in a row after an 0-3 start. They play China at 9:05 pm PT / 12:05 am ET.

Men’s hockey playoffs begin

Sport: Hockey
Time: 7:10 pm PT / 10:10 pm ET

The elimination round is here in men’s hockey, with four games scheduled.

Canada received a bye to the quarter-finals, so they won’t play, but there are some intriguing matchups nonetheless.

  • USA vs Slovakia: 7:10 pm PT / 10:10 pm ET
  • Slovenia vs Norway: 11:40 pm PT / 2:40 am ET
  • Finland vs South Korea: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET
  • Switzerland vs Germany: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET

Keep an eye on the USA/Slovakia game in particular. Judging by their play through the round robin, the Slovaks have a serious chance at an upset.

Canada will play the winner of the Finland/South Korea game in the next round.

Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.