Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Sports, Olympics

Olympic events to watch today, Day 7: Canada in contention for more medals

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Feb 15, 2018 1:47 pm 958
Alex harvey

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

After piling up the medals on Day 6 – winning gold, silver and bronze – Canada looks to add to their total on Day 7 at the 2018 Winter Olympics in PyeongChang.

Alex Harvey in cross-country skiing

alex harvey canada cross country skiing

Image: Team Canada / Twitter

Sport: Cross-country skiing 
Time: 10 pm PT / 1 am ET

Canada’s greatest cross-country skier of all-time, Alex Harvey has another shot at a medal in the men’s 15-kilometre free race.

Harvey was in the lead group through most of the 15+15 km skiathlon, but finished eighth. The 15 km free is an event where he placed second during a World Cup competition on January 28.

2 medal threats in speed skating

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 3 am PT / 6 am ET

Following Ted-Jan Bloemen’s gold medal in the 10,000-metre race, Canada has another shot at a medal on the oval. Ivanie Blondin and Isabelle Weidemann are among the 12 skaters in the 5,000-metre race and both have a shot to end up on the podium.

Snowboard cross final

Sport: Snowboard 
Time: 7:56 pm PT / 10:56 pm ET

Four Canadian women will compete in snowboard cross, with the final taking place at 7:56 pm PT / 10:56 pm ET.

They’ll have to qualify first, with qualification races scheduled for 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET. Quarter and semi-final races begin at 7:15 pm PT / 10:15 pm ET.

Patrick Chan takes to the ice

patrick chan olympics

Image: Mike Ridewood / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Figure skating
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

The men’s short program begins, with Patrick Chan skating for Canada. Medals will be handed out tomorrow, after the free skate.

Women’s curling team needs to bounce back

Sport: Curling
Time: 9:05 pm PT / 12:05 am ET

It was a disappointing day for Rachel Homan and the Canadian women’s curling team yesterday, as they dropped both of their opening games. With a 0-2 record, the pressure will be on when they take on Denmark at 9:05 pm PT / 12:05 am ET.

The men’s team, on the other hand, is 3-0 and takes on South Korea at 3:05 am PT / 6:05 am ET.

4 games in men’s hockey

Sport: Hockey
Time: 7:10 pm PT / 10:10 pm ET

Both USA and Russia will be looking for bounce-back efforts after they were each upset in their first games of the men’s hockey tournament. Here are the four games on tap:

  • USA vs Slovakia (7:10 pm PT / 10:10 pm ET)
  • OAR vs Slovenia (11:40 pm PT / 2:40 am ET)
  • Finland vs Norway (4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET)
  • Sweden vs Germany (4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET)
Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.