Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Rugby, Sports, Olympics

Canada to play for bronze in rugby at Rio 2016 Olympics

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 08, 2016 4:01 am

Canada will play for bronze in women’s rugby sevens after losing to #2-ranked Australia in the semi-finals on Monday.

Canada, the #3 team in the world, got a try after the hooter in the first half to take a 12-0 lead. The Aussies scored a try in the second half to take a commanding 17-0 lead.

The Canadians got on the board with a try from Charity Williams in the final minute, making the score 17-5, and that’s how it ended.

Canada never looked like they were in position to win this one, as the Aussies looked like the stronger team from start to finish.

The bronze medal game will take place later in the day at 2:30 pm PT (5:30 pm ET).

Canada will face world #4 Great Britain, after they lost to New Zealand in the other semi-final. Canada will be looking for redemption after Great Britain upset them 22-0 in the preliminary round on Sunday.

The gold medal game will take place immediately following the bronze medal game, at 3 pm PT (6 pm ET).

See also


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.