Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Olympics, Sports

9 Rio 2016 Olympic events to watch today: Friday, August 19

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 18, 2016 3:16 pm

Canada’s women’s soccer team will face a pressure-packed situation on Friday, as they look for a bronze medal against the hosts from Brazil.

“Brazil will have a home crowd that will be willing them on all the way,” said Canada’s head coach John Herdman. “It will be a pretty hostile crowd for Canada, we know that, but we also know what kind of pressure they will be under having hosted a home FIFA Women’s World Cup.”

Canada lost to Germany in the semi-final, in a game they very well could have won, despite the 2-0 scoreline. Just like in 2012, they’ll look to put the disappointment of a semi-final loss behind them and win a medal.

“We experienced an incredible moment in London, without doubt the greatest of my career,” added Rhian Wilkinson. “But this team is even stronger than our side four years ago. I’m convinced of that. We have to and we will do everything to win another bronze medal and relive that experience.”

Top events of the day:

  • Women’s Soccer: Canada goes for bronze
  • Men’s 4 x 100 m relay: De Grasse will run for Canada

After winning four medals on Thursday, there’s an opportunity for multiple medals again for Canada on Day 14.

Here’s what to watch today.

1. Track and Field

Early session:

  • 4 am PT (7 am ET): Men’s 50 km race walk
  • 10:30 am PT (1:30 pm ET): Women’s 20 km race walk

Late session:

  • 4:30 pm PT (7:30 pm ET): Women’s pole vault final
  • 4:40 pm PT (7:40 pm ET): Women’s 4 x 400 m relay qualifying rounds
  • 5:05 pm PT (8:05 pm ET): Men’s hammer throw final
  • 5:10 pm PT (8:10 pm ET): Men’s 4 x 400 m relay qualifying rounds
  • 5:40 pm PT (8:40 pm ET): Women’s 5000 m final
  • 6:15 pm PT (9:15 pm ET): Women’s 4 x 100 m relay final
  • 6:35 pm PT (9:35 pm ET): Men’s 4 x 100 m relay final

The highlight of the evening in track and field is the men’s 4 x 100 m relay, where Canada is a medal contender. Should Canada win, it would give Andre De Grasse his third medal in six days.

Canada has also qualified for the women’s 4 x 100 relay, but they’re a long shot for a medal.

Kelsie Ahbe is Canada’s entry in the women’s pole vault final. 

And finally, Canadians Mathieu Bilodeau and Evan Dunfee will compete in the always entertaining 50-kilometre race walk.

2. Canoe/Kayak

  • 5 am PT (8 am ET): Men’s kayak (K1) 200 m heats
  • 5:37 am PT (8:37 am ET): Women’s kayak (K4) 500 m heats
  • 6:07 am PT (9:07 am ET): Men’s kayak (K1) 200 m semi-finals
  • 6:37 am PT (9:37 am ET): Women’s kayak (K4) 500 m semi-finals

Mark De Jonge is a strong contender for gold in the K1 200 m race. Canada also has an entry in the K4 500 m race.

3. Women’s Golf

  • 6:58 am PT (9:58 am ET): Round 3

Canadian Brooke Henderson is two shots off the leader, Inbee Park (KOR), after two rounds in women’s golf. Henderson tees off at 6:58 am PT (9:58 am ET).

4. Women’s Water Polo

  • 7:20 am PT (10:20 am ET): Bronze medal match – Hungary vs Russia
  • 11:30 am PT (2:30 pm ET): Gold medal match – USA vs Italy

USA and Italy battle it out for women’s water polo glory.

5. Women’s Field Hockey

  • 8 am PT (11 am ET): Bronze medal match – Germany vs New Zealand
  • 1 pm PT (4 pm ET): Gold medal match – Netherlands vs Great Britain

Medals will be handed out as the women’s field hockey tournament reaches its conclusion.

6. Women’s Soccer

  • 9 am PT (12 pm ET): Bronze medal match – Canada vs Brazil
  • 1:30 pm PT (4:30 pm ET): Gold medal match – Sweden vs Germany

Canada tries to reach the podium for the second straight Olympics in women’s soccer.

7. Men’s Volleyball

  • 9 am PT (12 pm ET): Italy vs USA
  • 6:15 pm PT (9:15 pm ET): Russia vs Brazil

There are just four teams remaining in men’s volleyball, as teams fight for a spot in the gold medal game.

8. Men’s BMX Cycling

  • 9:38 am PT (12:38 pm ET): BMX semi-final
  • 11:10 am PT (2:10 pm ET): BMX final

Coquitlam, BC’s Tory Nyhaug won his quarter-final heat on Thursday. But whether he makes the final or not, BMX is an exciting must-see sport.

9. Men’s Basketball

  • 11:30 am PT (2:30 pm ET): Spain vs USA
  • 3 pm PT (6 pm ET): Australia vs Serbia

Semi-final action begins on Friday, as the Olympic basketball tournament gets interesting.

See also


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.