Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Olympics, Sports

7 Rio 2016 Olympic events to watch today: Wednesday, August 10

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 09, 2016 2:50 pm

Canada has at least one medal on each of the first four days of the Olympics so far, the first time that our country has accomplished this feat in a Summer Olympics. Can we make it five today?

Here’s what you need to watch today (events televised on CBC, TSN, Sportsnet).

1. Swimming

  • Men’s 200 m breaststroke final: 6:03 pm PT (9:03 pm ET)
  • Women’s 200 m butterfly final: 6:54 pm PT (9:54 pm ET)
  • Men’s 100 m freestyle final: 7:03 pm PT (10:03 pm ET)
  • Women’s 4×200 m freestyle relay final: 7:55 pm PT (10:55 pm ET)

Canadian Santo Condorelli, he of the pre-race one finger salute, has qualified for the men’s 100-metre freestyle final with the third fastest time, and should challenge for a medal.

See also

2. Tennis (doubles semi-final)

  • Daniel Nestor & Vasek Pospisil (Canada) vs Marc Lopez & Rafael Nadal (Spain): TBD

Sixteen years after he won gold in Sydney, 43-year-old Daniel Nestor will play for a medal once more. Nestor, and his partner Vasek Pospisil, will advance to the gold medal game with a win, or the bronze medal game with a loss.

The task won’t be easy against living legend Rafael Nadal and doubles specialist Marc Lopez of Spain.

*Update: A rain delay in Rio has postponed this match until Thursday.

3. Women’s Basketball

  • Canada vs Senegal: 1:45 pm PT (3:45 pm ET)

Canada will try to keep the ball rolling with another win against Senegal. The Canadians have been impressive so far, beating China easily in their opener and winning after facing adversity against Serbia in their second game.

Senegal has been blown out in each of their first two games, so Canada will be heavily favoured in this one.

4. Beach Volleyball

  • Josh Binstock & Samuel Schachter (Canada) vs Clemens Doppler & Alexander Horst (Austria): 7:59 pm PT (10:59 pm ET)

The Canadian duo need a win to stay alive in the beach volleyball tournament.

5. Gymnastics

  • Men’s individual all-around final: 12 pm PT (3 pm ET)

No Canadians involved, but this is one of the glamour events of the Olympics.

6. Judo

  • Women’s 70 kg bronze medal final: 12:26 pm PT (3:26 pm ET)
  • Women’s 70 kg gold medal final: 12:40 pm PT (3:40 pm ET)

Whitby, Ontario’s Kelita Zupancic could be in the mix for a medal in judo on Wednesday. She finished ninth in London four years ago as a 22-year-old and won a gold medal at the Pan Am Games in Toronto. We’ll see if she can win her matches earlier in the day to advance to one of the medal finals.

7. Men’s Soccer

  • Algeria vs Portugal: 9 am PT (12 pm ET)
  • Argentina vs Honduras: 9 am PT (12 pm ET)
  • Germany vs Fiji: 12 pm PT (3 pm ET)
  • Korea vs Mexico: 12 pm PT (3 pm ET)
  • Colombia vs Nigeria: 3 pm PT (6 pm ET)
  • Japan vs Sweden: 3 pm PT (6 pm ET)
  • Denmark vs Brazil: 6 pm PT (9 pm ET)
  • South Africa vs Iraq: 6 pm PT (9 pm ET)

Spots in the quarter-final are on the line on the last day of the group stage in men’s soccer.

Remarkably, Brazil has not scored a goal yet in two games, earning two ties. They need a win to be guaranteed to move on. Traditional world powers Germany and Argentina are in third place in their respective groups, and will need results to avoid an embarrassing early exit.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.