× Select City
Olympics, Sports

Olympic events to watch today, Day 13: Canada vs USA gold medal game

Rob Williams Feb 21, 2018 12:58 pm 1,649

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

It’s arguably the best rivalry in all of sports.

Canada and the United States will play for the gold medal – again – in women’s hockey. These teams have seemingly hated each other ever since the first Olympic women’s hockey tournament in 1998.


Must-see event: Women’s gold medal hockey game

Sport: Hockey
Time: 8:10 pm PT / 11:10 pm ET

Canada has won every Olympic gold medal in women’s hockey since 2002, but they enter this game as underdogs to the Americans.

USA has had Canada’s number, winning the World Championship in 2015, 2016, and 2017. Canada beat them in the round robin though.

It should be a good one.

Canada in men’s curling semi-final

Sport: Curling
Time: 3:05 am PT / 6:05 am ET

Kevin Koe and the Canadian men’s curling team can earth a berth into the gold medal game with a win against the United States in the semi-final.

Men’s ski halfpipe final

Sport: Freestyle skiing
Time: 7:22 pm PT / 10:22 pm ET

Canada has a shot at a medal in men’s ski halfpipe final.

Three Canadians have qualified for the final, with Mike Riddle – the silver medal winner from Sochi – posting the seventh-best score in qualification. Noah Bowman and Simon D’Artois are also in contention.

Multiple medals in short track

Sport: Short track speed skating
Time: 3:13 am PT / 6:13 am ET

Three medal events are taking place on the last day of competition in short track speed skating, with Canadians competing in all of them.

Quarter-final and semi-final action kicks off at 2 am PT / 5 am ET, with the finals beginning at 3:13 am PT / 6:13 am ET.

Canadian gold medallist Samuel Girard is our lone entry in the men’s 500-metre race, while Marianne St-Gelais, Kim Boutin, and Valerie Maltais are all in contention in the women’s 1,000-metre skate.

The men’s 5,000-metre relay should be a lot of fun too, with Girard, Charles Hamelin, Charle Cournoyer, and Pascal Dion representing Canada. It’s likely the last race ever at the Olympics for Hamelin, who has had a legendary career.

See also

Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.