Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Sports, Olympics

Olympic events to watch today, Day 9: Canada goes for a medal in ski slopestyle

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Feb 17, 2018 2:08 pm 790

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

Canada has medal hopefuls in freestyle skiing and long track speed skating, as we’re into Day 9 of the Winter Olympics in PyeongChang.

Today’s must-see event is ski slopestyle, where we’re bound to see some amazing jumps – and some spectacular wipeouts.

Must see event: Men’s ski slopestyle final

Alex Beaulieu-Marchand

Image: Jason Ransom / Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Freestyle skiing
Time: 8:15 pm PT / 11:15 pm ET

Canada has four entries in the men’s ski slopestyle event. Evan McEachran, Alex Beaulieu-Marchand, Teal Harle, Alex Bellemare aren’t the favourites, but have a shot at a medal. Qualifying begins at 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET, with the final scheduled to start at 8:15 pm PT / 11:15 pm ET.

Canada heavy favourites against South Korea in men’s hockey

mason raymond canada olympics

Image: Hockey Canada / Twitter

Sport: Hockey
Time: 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET

After suffering their first loss of the tournament in a shootout, a 3-2 defeat to the Czech Republic, Team Canada should have an easy time with South Korea in their last game of the preliminary round. A more competitive game will likely be played between Sweden and Finland (also a 4:10 am PT / 7:10 am ET start).

Long track speed skating

Sport: Long track speed skating
Time: 3:56 am PT / 6:56 am ET

Canada has two medal hopes in the women’s 500-metre race in long track speed skating. Heather McLean placed fifth at the World Single Distance Championships in this event, while Marsha Hudey finished sixth.

Curling

Sport: Curling
Time: 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET

Canada’s curling teams have a pair of games against Switzerland – the men play at 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET and the women begin at 9:05 pm PT / 12:05 am ET.

Bobsleigh

Sport: Bobsleigh
Time: 3:05 am PT / 6:05 am ET

Men’s two-man bobsleigh competition begins, with the first two heats. Canada has three entries in the event, including a pair of medal favourites.

See also
Dh newsletter logo

Get direct access to our top weekly content, contests, and perks.


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.