Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Soccer, Sports

World Cup Report: Ronaldo puts Portugal on his back

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Jun 20, 2018 2:41 pm 1,152

Where would Portugal be without Cristiano Ronaldo?

The 33-year-old global icon scored another famous goal Wednesday at the FIFA World Cup, putting his country in a good spot heading into their final game of the group stage.

He has all four of his country’s goals through two matches.

Portugal ends Morocco’s run

It took just four minutes in Portugal’s second match for Ronaldo to score his fourth goal of Russia 2018. To put that in perspective, consider that only two players at the 2014 World Cup had more.

Ronaldo headed home a cross in the box, giving Portugal the only goal they needed to defeat Morocco.

With two straight losses to open the tournament, Morocco became the first team to be mathematically eliminated from this year’s World Cup.

Morocco had their chances, but ultimately couldn’t finish the job.

Portugal will have a chance to win the group on Monday. Hopefully Pepe will have recovered from this vicious attack by then:

Spain keeps pace

The other Group B powerhouse, Spain kept pace with their European neighbours on Wednesday, defeating Iran 1-0.

Diego Costa scored a lucky goal in the 54th minute, getting a favourable bounce off a defender’s leg.

Iran appeared to have tied the game up in the 62nd minute…

The goal was allowed on the pitch, but after further review from the Video Assisted Referee, it was deemed to be offside. Say what you want about VAR, but it was made for moments like these.

Though their win came by the slimmest of margins, Spain dominated the match, controlling 70% of possession and outshooting their opponent 17-5.

Iran didn’t score, but they did do this…

Iran will likely need to beat Portugal in their final group stage match to move on to the Round of 16.

Uruguay win eliminates Saudi Arabia and Egypt

Uruguay kept its record perfect intact, defeating Saudi Arabia 1-0.

Saudi Arabia’s goalkeeper misjudged his jump for a corner kick and Luis Suarez was Johnny on the spot for the only goal of the match in the 23rd minute.

The win puts Uruguay in a first-place tie with Russia atop Group A. Both Saudi Arabia and Egypt, two countries searching for their first positive result, have been eliminated from the next round.

Thursday’s matches

Denmark and France will look to improve their perfect 1-0 records with matches against Australia and Peru, respectively, in Group C action on Thursday. The final game of the day includes Lionel Messi and Argentina looking to avoid going winless through their first two matches, as they play Croatia.

  • Denmark vs Australia (5 am PT / 8 am ET)
  • France vs Peru (8 am PT / 11 am ET)
  • Argentina vs Croatia (11 am PT / 2 pm ET)
See also

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.