Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
News

The Tragically Hip announce Canadian tour

C5667d28f1f280a1107a885ad0d95d34?s=96&d=mm&r=g
DH Calgary Staff May 25, 2016 10:13 am

Just one day after The Tragically Hip lead singer Gord Downie revealed he has terminal brain cancer, the band has announced they’re embarking on a cross-Canada tour.

The Tragically Hip will be making 11 stops, including in Calgary, on their Man Machine Poem Tour that kicks off on July 22 in Victoria and goes until August 20.

[am2_see_also]

“What we in The Hip receive, each time we play together, is a connection; with each other; with music and it’s magic; and during the shows, a special connection with all of you, our incredible fans,” the band said in a statement.

“So, we’re going to dig deep, and try to make this our best tour yet.”

Lead singer Downie was lauded as “courageous” by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau in a tweet that he sent out on Tuesday morning.

Tickets will go on sale on Friday, June 3 at 10 a.m. at livenation.com. A portion of all proceeds will be donated to the Sunnybrook Foundation, a Toronto-based hospital.

Man Machine Poem Tour 2016

Friday, July 22: Victoria, B.C. at Save On Foods Memorial Centre

Sunday, July 24: Vancouver, B.C. at Rogers Arena

Thursday, July 28: Edmonton, A.B. at Rexall Place

Monday, August 1: Calgary, A.B. at Scotiabank Saddledome

Friday, August 5: Winnipeg, M.B. at MTS Centre

Monday, August 8: London, O.N. at Budweiser Gardens

Wednesday, August 10 and Friday, August 12: Toronto, O.N. at Air Canada Centre

Tuesday, August 16: Hamilton, O.N. at FirstOntario Centre

Thursday, August 18: Ottawa, O.N. at Canadian Tire Centre

Saturday, August 20: Kingston, O.N. at Rogers K-Rock Centre


C5667d28f1f280a1107a885ad0d95d34?s=96&d=mm&r=g
DH Calgary Staff
Daily Hive is the evolution of Calgary Buzz.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.