Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Sports, Olympics

9 Rio 2016 Olympic events to watch today: Saturday, August 20

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 19, 2016 12:24 pm

We’re nearing the end of the Rio 2016 Olympics and it has been a successful one for Canada. With 21 medals to date, Canada is just one behind the national record for most medals in a non-boycotted Summer Games.

Can they tie or even beat the record? There are no clear-cut favourites, but they’ve got a few possibilities.

Top events of the day:

  • 800 m final: Melissa Bishop
  • K1 200 m kayak: Mark De Jonge
  • Golf: Brooke Henderson
  • Women’s 4 x 400 m final

Here are the top events to watch today, in chronological order.

1. Golf

  • 4 am PT (7 am ET): Women’s individual stroke play – Round 4

Brooke Henderson is in a tie for 8th place heading into the final round. She’s 7 shots off the leader, Inbee Park of South Korea, and 5 shots off Lydia Ko (New Zealand) and Gerina Piller (USA) for a shot at the podium.

Henderson tees off at 4 am PT (7 am ET).

2. Canoe/Kayak

  • 5 am PT (8 am ET): Men’s kayak (K1) 200 m final
  • 5:14 am PT (8:14 am ET): Men’s canoe (C2) 1000 m final
  • 5:40 am PT (8:40 am ET): Women’s kayak (K4) 500 m final
  • 6:04 am PT (9:04 am ET): Men’s kayak (K4) 1000 m final

Mark De Jonge didn’t have a great K1 200-metre semi-final, finishing with the slowest time of all qualifiers for the final. Still, you have to think that De Jonge has a chance at a medal, given that he won gold at the World Championships last year.

Canada had the fourth fastest qualifying time in the semi-finals in the women’s K4 500-metre race.

3. Women’s Basketball

  • 7:30 am PT (10:30 am ET): Bronze medal game – France vs Serbia
  • 11:30 am PT (2:30 pm ET): Gold medal game – USA vs Spain

The closest anyone has come to beating USA was France, who lost by 19 points. If Spain – who lost to USA by 40 points in the round robin – is to win gold, it’ll be one of the biggest upsets in Olympic history.

4. Mountain Biking

  • 8:30 am PT (11:30 am ET): Women’s mountain biking cross-country final

Canadians Emily Batty and Catharine Pendrel are both top-10 in the world and could make some noise in this competition.

5. Men’s Soccer

  • 9 am PT (12 pm ET): Bronze medal match – Honduras vs Nigeria
  • 1:30 pm PT (4:30 pm ET): Gold medal match – Brazil vs Germany

Brazil is looking for gold medal glory at home in their national sport.

6. Men’s Water Polo

  • 9 am PT (12 pm ET): Bronze medal match – Montenegro vs Italy
  • 1:50 pm PT (4:50 pm ET): Gold medal match – Croatia vs Serbia

There’s potential for a former Yugoslavia country sweep of the medals in men’s water polo.

7. Women’s Volleyball

  • 9 am PT (12 pm ET): Bronze medal match – Netherlands vs USA
  • 6:15 pm PT (9:15 pm ET): Gold medal match – China vs Serbia

Medals are on the line in the last day of the women’s volleyball tournament.

8. Diving

  • 12:30 pm PT (3:30 pm ET): Men’s 10 m platform final

Unlike the women’s competition, Canadians aren’t expected to medal in this event but it’s worth watching nonetheless.

9. Track and Field

  • 4:30 pm PT (7:30 pm ET): Women’s high jump final
  • 4:55 pm PT (7:55 pm ET): Men’s javelin throw final
  • 5 pm PT (8 pm ET): Men’s 1500 m final
  • 5:15 pm PT (8:15 pm ET): Women’s 800 m final
  • 5:30 pm PT (8:30 pm ET): Men’s 5000 m final
  • 6 pm PT (9 pm ET): Women’s 4 x 400 m relay final
  • 6:35 pm PT (9:35 pm ET): Men’s 4 x 400 m relay final

Melissa Bishop presents Canada’s best chance at a medal on the track on Saturday. She won the silver medal at the World Championships last year.

Also with a shot at a medal is the Canadian women’s 4 x 400 m relay team. They qualified with the fifth-fastest time on Friday.

Other Canadians that have qualified for finals, but not expected to medal include Alyxandria Treasure (high jump), Nathan Brannen (1500 m), and Mohammed Ahmed (5000 m).

See also


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.