Channels
× Select City
×
×
×
Sports, Olympics

7 Rio 2016 Olympic events to watch today: Wednesday, August 17

D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams Aug 16, 2016 4:35 pm
De grasse bolt
CBC

After going medal-less on Monday for the first time in these Olympics, Canada got right back on track on Tuesday, winning a gold medal in high jump. Wednesday promises to be another jam-packed day filled with great things to watch from Rio.

Top events of the day:

  • Men’s volleyball: Canada is in the quarter-finals
  • Golf: Brooke Henderson begins playing
  • Decathlon: Damian Warner begins the Olympics in decathlon
  • 200 m semi-final

Here’s a list of events you don’t want to miss.

1. Golf

  • 5:15 am PT (8:15 am ET): Women’s individual stroke play

The women’s golf tournament kicks off on Wednesday, and Smith Falls, Ontario’s Brooke Henderson is one of the favourites. The tournament begins at 3:30 am PT (6:30 am ET), but Henderson tees off at 5:15 am PT (8:15 am ET).

Alena Sharp is the other Canadian in the tournament. She tees off at 6:25 am PT (9:25 am ET).

2. Track and Field

  • 5:30 am PT (8:30 am ET): Men’s decathlon – 100 m
  • 6:35 am PT (9:35 am ET): Men’s decathlon – long jump
  • 8:15 am PT (11:15 am ET): Men’s decathlon – shot put
  • 1:45 pm PT (4:45 pm ET): Men’s decathlon – high jump
  • 5:15 pm PT (8:15 pm ET): Women’s long jump final
  • 5:20 pm PT (8:20 pm ET): Men’s decathlon – 400 m
  • 6 pm PT (9 pm ET): Men’s 200 m semi-final
  • 6:30 pm PT (9:30 pm ET): Women’s 200 m final
  • 6:55 pm PT (9:55 pm ET): Women’s 100 m hurdles final

It’s a busy day in track and field, with some intriguing events taking place.

Canadian Damian Warner is a favourite to win a medal in decathlon. He’ll be competing against Ashton Eaton of the United States, the husband of Canadian bronze medal winner Brianne Theisen-Eaton.

Andre De Grasse will look to qualify for the 200 m final. He posted the fastest time in heats on Tuesday.

3. Men’s Volleyball

  • 6 am PT (9 am ET): Canada vs Russia

Canada is the surprise team into the quarter-final, and they’ve got a chance to take it another step further.

4. Men’s Basketball

  • 7 am PT (10 am ET): Australia vs Lithuania
  • 10:30 am PT (1:30 pm ET): Spain vs France
  • 2:45 pm PT (5:45 pm ET): USA vs Argentina
  • 6:15 pm PT (9:15 pm ET): Croatia vs Serbia

We’re into quarter-final action in men’s basketball with a number of exciting matchups.

5. Men’s Soccer

  • 9 am PT (12 pm ET): Brazil vs Honduras
  • 12 pm PT (3 pm ET): Nigeria vs Germany

Semi-finals of men’s soccer is on and there’s immense pressure on the hosts from Brazil.

6. Boxing

  • 12:30 pm PT (3:30 pm ET): Men’s welterweight gold medal final

Shakhram Giyasov of Uzbekistan takes on Daniyar Yeleussinov of Kazakhstan for the gold medal.

7. Beach Volleyball

  • 6 pm PT (9 pm ET): Women’s bronze medal match
  • 8 pm PT (11 pm ET): Women’s gold medal match

Medals are on the line at Copacabana.

See also


D65ee5c0c621138e6583683efa1bd7fe?s=96&d=mm&r=g
Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.