× Select City
Sports, Olympics

Olympic events to watch today, Day 3: Canada goes for gold in figure skating

Rob Williams Feb 11, 2018 7:34 am 2,394

The 2018 Winter Olympics have begun and Daily Hive is here to help, giving you a list of the most interesting events you should keep your eye on each day. Whether you’re staying up, waking up, or just setting your PVR, here’s your evening/morning guide for what to watch.

A star-studded team.

That’s the only way to describe Canada’s entry in the team figure skating event. Their team, filled with world champions and Olympic medallists, is set up well to earn a gold medal on Day 3 in PyeongChang.

Must see event: Canada in 1st place heading into final day of figure skating team event

Sport: Figure skating
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

Canada sits comfortably in first place, ahead of OAR (Russia) and the United States with just three skates remaining.

Patrick Chan will go for Canada in the men’s free skate at 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET, before Gabrielle Daleman takes to the ice in the women’s competition at 6:10 pm PT / 9:10 pm ET.

If Chan and Daleman can each have clean skates, it should set the stage for ice dancers Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir to secure the gold medal in the free dance (7:20 pm PT / 10:20 pm ET).

Mikael Kingsbury goes for gold in moguls

mikael kingsbury canada moguls

Image: Team Canada / Twitter

Sport: Freestyle skiing
Time: 4 am PT / 7 am ET

Four years ago Mikael Kingsbury was the favourite, but had to settle for silver in men’s moguls when he was edged by teammate Alex Bilodeau. He’s well set up to earn gold this time around, after posting the best score in qualifying.

Canada vs Norway in mixed doubles curling semi-finals

Sport: Curling
Time: 4:05 pm PT / 7:05 pm ET

The team of Kaitlyn Lawes and John Morris (6-1) has steamrolled their way through the competition since dropping their first game of the tournament. The only team they lost to was Norway (4-3), who as luck would have it, is their opponent in the semi-finals.

Women’s luge begins

alex gough luge

Image: Canadian Olympic Committee

Sport: Luge
Time: 2:50 am PT / 5:50 am ET

Canada’s Alex Gough begins her quest for Canada’s first-ever medal in luge, with the first two of four runs taking place on Day 3.

Women’s snowboard slopestyle final

Sport: Snowboard
Time: 5 pm PT / 8 pm ET

After qualification runs were cancelled due to poor weather, it will be an abbreviated competition in women’s slopestyle. Just two final runs are scheduled instead of the usual three, though everyone has qualified.

Canada has three entries in the competition.

See also

Rob Williams
Man of the people, voice of the fans. Daily Hive Sports Editor.

© 2018 Buzz Connected Media Inc.